Coconut Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I used coconut cream pudding instead of the vanilla pudding and heavy whipping cream whipped up with two tablespoons of granulated sugar instead of the coolwhip type cream. I also roasted about a half cup coconut on a preheated baking sheet to sprinkle on the top. It was great and I received lots of compliments. Too easy to be this YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I just made this pie and I had to run to the computer to post my review. This pie is fantastic!!!! I had a craving for coconut cream pie after catching a little bit of a "Gilligans Island" re-run the other day. I remembered how easy this recipe seemed and grabed the ingredients at the store today. I used canned cocount milk instead of regular milk to kick up the cocount factor a little and it came out great!!! I will make this recipe all the time now!!! So easy and so tasty!!! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I recently made this for a PTA appreciation lunch and boy did they appreciate it! IT ROCKED! There is not an easier recipe for this out there and it yields bakery tasting results!!! I would DEFINITELY recommend using coconut flav. instant pudding rather than vanilla (I followed this advice after reading other posts...thanks.) I toasted coconut and sprinkled that atop the pie and I also piped whip cream around the sides...it was beautiful and EASY AS PIE!!! MAKE THIS PIE!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Wonderful! I have made this 3 times now. Each time I use 2 small (3.5 oz ) packages of coconut instant pudding instead of a 5oz. (couldn't find) and I think it helps the pie really firm up. I didn't prebake the crust and did let it sit overnight. It's a nice treat when you are looking for something sweet that isn't chocolate. I won't bother making one from "scratch." Everyone already thinks it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
First of all, I have to admit that I do not eat coconut so this review is based solely on the other members of my family. I used the cocunut pudding as suggested and they raved about this pie which I could not believe because it was too easy! I took it to a family gathering and it has been requested for every get together after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
I made this pie for my husband's birthday since he LOVES coconut cream pie. He said it was the very best pie he had ever enjoyed. I did replace the vanilla pudding for coconut as recommeded by others, as well as adding a splash of vanilla extract. A true keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I made this with a few variatons. I used 2 small boxes of instant coconut creme pudding,I couldn't find any 5 oz. boxes. I still used the same amount of milk, and I used french vanilla cool-whip. I took one other persons advice and didn't put the toasted coconut on until I served it. Absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaSusanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
One of the greatest and easiest dessert recipes ever. I mixed vanilla and coconut pudding as suggested by other readers and added more milk and some vanilla extract. I whipped some heavy cream and toasted the coconut for the topping. I used a Graham crust pie shell. Thank you Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
Delicious! Be careful to add exactly the right of milk. I added a touch too much and it didn't firm up as much as I would have liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I really liked this but my husband did not. He did not like the coconut sprinkled on top. Definitely use coconut pudding otherwise your pie will taste like vanilla pudding w/coconut. I could not find coconut pudding so I used vanilla but added 3 tsp. of coconut extract. I also toasted the coconut sprinkled on top of the pie to add color and used a graham cracker crust. I served this to 2 other people who did not offer any comments but did clean their plates. I doubt I'll make this again since my husband did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States