Coconut Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I used coconut cream pudding instead of the vanilla pudding and heavy whipping cream whipped up with two tablespoons of granulated sugar instead of the coolwhip type cream. I also roasted about a half cup coconut on a preheated baking sheet to sprinkle on the top. It was great and I received lots of compliments. Too easy to be this YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I just made this pie and I had to run to the computer to post my review. This pie is fantastic!!!! I had a craving for coconut cream pie after catching a little bit of a "Gilligans Island" re-run the other day. I remembered how easy this recipe seemed and grabed the ingredients at the store today. I used canned cocount milk instead of regular milk to kick up the cocount factor a little and it came out great!!! I will make this recipe all the time now!!! So easy and so tasty!!! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I recently made this for a PTA appreciation lunch and boy did they appreciate it! IT ROCKED! There is not an easier recipe for this out there and it yields bakery tasting results!!! I would DEFINITELY recommend using coconut flav. instant pudding rather than vanilla (I followed this advice after reading other posts...thanks.) I toasted coconut and sprinkled that atop the pie and I also piped whip cream around the sides...it was beautiful and EASY AS PIE!!! MAKE THIS PIE!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Wonderful! I have made this 3 times now. Each time I use 2 small (3.5 oz ) packages of coconut instant pudding instead of a 5oz. (couldn't find) and I think it helps the pie really firm up. I didn't prebake the crust and did let it sit overnight. It's a nice treat when you are looking for something sweet that isn't chocolate. I won't bother making one from "scratch." Everyone already thinks it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
First of all, I have to admit that I do not eat coconut so this review is based solely on the other members of my family. I used the cocunut pudding as suggested and they raved about this pie which I could not believe because it was too easy! I took it to a family gathering and it has been requested for every get together after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
I made this pie for my husband's birthday since he LOVES coconut cream pie. He said it was the very best pie he had ever enjoyed. I did replace the vanilla pudding for coconut as recommeded by others, as well as adding a splash of vanilla extract. A true keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I made this with a few variatons. I used 2 small boxes of instant coconut creme pudding,I couldn't find any 5 oz. boxes. I still used the same amount of milk, and I used french vanilla cool-whip. I took one other persons advice and didn't put the toasted coconut on until I served it. Absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaSusanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
Delicious! Be careful to add exactly the right of milk. I added a touch too much and it didn't firm up as much as I would have liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I really liked this but my husband did not. He did not like the coconut sprinkled on top. Definitely use coconut pudding otherwise your pie will taste like vanilla pudding w/coconut. I could not find coconut pudding so I used vanilla but added 3 tsp. of coconut extract. I also toasted the coconut sprinkled on top of the pie to add color and used a graham cracker crust. I served this to 2 other people who did not offer any comments but did clean their plates. I doubt I'll make this again since my husband did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
One of the greatest and easiest dessert recipes ever. I mixed vanilla and coconut pudding as suggested by other readers and added more milk and some vanilla extract. I whipped some heavy cream and toasted the coconut for the topping. I used a Graham crust pie shell. Thank you Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States