Coconut Cream Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I was skeptical about the use of coconut milk in this recipe since I thought it would be a little heavy, but it added a nice rich mouth feel to the filling. I will say that I did not use the 1/2 and 1/2, I used 2% milk because that it what I had on hand. It worked perfectly. I think that using the 1/2 and 1/2 would have made the filling too rich (if there is such a thing) because it was plenty rich as it was. Also, for me, it works better to blend the cornstarch, sugar and salt together in the sauce pan, add the beaten eggs and incorporate them and then add the liquids a portion at a time. This ensure that all the cornstarch and egg gets incorporated into a smooth mixture before you begin cooking it. My tasters LOVED this recipe and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was very easy to make, taste was good, but not great. Firmed up beautifully, was thick and creamy. I think the cornstarch gave it a slightly "off" taste. Made it exactly as written...Will make again, though with some slight preferential alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This Coconut cream pie recipe is so delicious. I did as the first review suggested and blended the cornstarch, sugar and salt together in a saucepan. Then I added the beaten eggs and gradually poured in the milk. I did use 1/3 cup cornstarch and I used 2 and 1/2 cups of 2 % milk and only a 1/2 cup of half & half. Those were the only changes I made from the original recipe. My husband always loved his mother's coconut pie as we all did. No one in his family had her recipe. My husband says this recipe comes close. He thought his Mom used fresh cream after they milked the cows and it was of course much richer. Many thanks for sharing this goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this for a church meal today. WOW!! It was a hit. Had trouble finding coconut milk, so used Silk coconut milk with 1/2 1/2. I wanted to get 30 pieces, So I made this in an XL cake pan. I used refrigerated Pillsbury pie dough, customizing it to the pan -- worked great. Meringue was more like a frosting, but was delicious. I called it Coconut Pie in a Pan. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Awesome recipe! I used fat free half and half (yes, there is such a thing) and it made the custard just the right consistency. And I used 3 egg yolks since I would need 3 whites for the meringue. It didn't take nearly 30 mins to cook the custard but I won't argue with the cook because she shared a true winner of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swillner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Excellent texture and taste! For me it tasted like a combination of coconut and bananas! One thing I would do different next time is begin whipping the eggs at the same time I begin stirring the custard because the eggs took 30 minutes to whip whereas the custard only took 15 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Ambassador
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The addition of the coconut milk is wonderful imparting a great flavor! I ended up using a combo of what I had on hand to total 3 cups of whole milk/half and half/coconut milk. I'm sure any ratio would be great. Also was short on corn starch so supplemented some tapioca flour, so added less still with a firm result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My mother and I have never made a coconut cream pie... we had an amazing time making this recipe and the results were awesome! People were very impressed and the pie tasted wonderful! Thank you ... thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Djrobert Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Followed the directions to the letter, and even after a whole day in the fridge it was soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States