Coconut Cream Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I have made this cake more times than I can count, and I'm always asked for the recipe. If made properly, this cake will be moist, but it is important that the batter is beat for the full 4 minutes that the recipe calls for in order to activate the pudding in the cake mix. Since there are no liquids added to the cake mix other than the oil, the batter will be thick. I bake my cake for the full 75 minutes at 325 as directed on the recipe and it comes out just right every time, but not all ovens are the same. The only thing I have changed on this recipe is to toast the almonds. If you like coconut this is an exceptionally good and easy recipe. Thanks Jennifer for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I made this yesterday. My husband really does not care for coconut. He loved it. He said this was totally DELICIOUS. I agree. I do catering and I will put this in my inventory of easy to do recipes. I made it in a tube pan and increased the cooking time to 80 minutes. This was so simple and the result was amazing. I will make this one over and over again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I was disappointed with this. I was thinking it was going to be moister. It just tasted like a yellow cake with coconut in it. It certainly wasn't bad. Just wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
mmm very tasty and moist. I did however change the recipe a bit. I used 1 teaspoon of coconut extract, low fat sour cream, and used a whipped cream frosting and browned some coconut flakes to put on top. I also cut the sugar down a bit and made them into 24 muffins. Everybody loved it! Very moist! This went perfect for my Hawaiian themed birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Well I left the coconut out because I am the only one that likes it and the cakes was still really good but it only took half the time to bake. I am not sure if it was because I left the coconut out or if the time on the recipe is wrong. Be careful and watch the cake when you are baking it. I will probably try it next time with the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This cake was very simple to make and tasted great. I baked it about 60 minutes. It was still too long. It was just a little too golden brown. Still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very moist and delicious cake! I only baked it for about 50-55 mins. though as 75 was WAYYY too long for my oven. This is very tasty.....otherwise I made it exactly as the recipe stated. YUMMY!!! Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
i personally the time (75 minutes is about 15 minutes too long. check it out at 60 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This is so easy and very rich. My daughter, 7 made this for Father's Day. Huge hit! The sour cream gives it a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Definately a keeper! My husband LOVED it. We're generally chocolate people, but this cake was so moist it didn't need frosting - it was excellent either way. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States