Coconut Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
My book club group always request this cake when it is my turn to host! My modifications: I make it 3 layers, baked for 25 minutes. I add 1 tsp of coconut extract to the cake mix and to the frosting. The 3 layers require 1 1/2 times the recipe and I always add extra coconut right into the frosting and pat more on the outside of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this cake for my dad's 75th birthday because he loves coconut cake. It was great! Everyone loved it, and my family can be quite critical of my cooking at times. I followed the recipe exactly. The only difference was that I had to cook it a little longer than the recipe called for. I will make this again, and again, and again. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was very pretty, and held together nicely. But it was really really sweet. I made it as dessert for Christmas dinner, and there is still some left on the counter today. Will not make this one again. I will probably stick with Emeril's Coconut Cream Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This cake was very good- super easy and super moist. I made as a Bundt cake (baked 40 minutes). I also added a macaroon filling that I got from the Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake on this site. Next time I would double the filling as that recipe was for a 10 cup Bundt and I have a 12 cup. The filling was tasty but there wasn't enough. I also used coconut extract for vanilla as I had on hand. If you love coconut, you will love this cake. I served it to our pastor who was visiting for our son's pre-Baptismal meeting and he raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Everyone, loved it. I couldn't find cream of coconut so I used 3tsp coconut extract and a cup of heavy cream. I also made it the night before, so the flavor really came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This is a great and yummy recipe. I made it the first time for a birthday cake. It was so popular, everyone loved it. I made it again as cupcakes for a Mother's Day brunch and everyone asked for the recipe. I make one minor change - I use 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the oil. The cake is so moist and holds up well with the frosting. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I was disappointed with this recipe. I don't know if it was the coconut cream that added to a mix made it overly sweet. I even cut in half the sugar of the frosting, but it didn't help much. I learned to be careful with recipes using cake mix, because the mix is already too sweet for my taste. Any extra suggar added will be already too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIAEDGAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Loved it. Very moist- not too coconutty in flavor, but that makes it great. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Well I don't know if I did something wrong but I didn;t taste much coconut flavour at all. I just thhought the flavouring would be pouring out of it. The only cocnut taste I got was from the cocnut I sprinkled on the top. I even added a teaspoon coconut flavouring to the cake mix. Next time I think I will add the whole tin of coconut cream and 2 teaspoons coconut flavouring. The icing on top was excellent. The presentation was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
OMG. This is sooo good. I used it to make a rabbit cake at Easter. It was a perfect choice. Moist. Smells wonderful while cooking. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States