Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
***** I've made this cake many times, using only half of the cream of coconut, and the condensed milk. I decided to make this recipe for the icing. This was my first time using heavy whipping cream. I searched for tips to stabilize it. I added 1 tsp of powered milk and 1 tsp of corn syrup before beating the cream. I then beat on medium until it had thickened and you could see the beater tracks in it. Then I added the sugar, and flavoring and I used confectioners sugar and increased it to 6 Tab. Then I turned my mixer up higher and beat, until it could stand in peaks. Very good. I was hoping by using the stabilizers this would not 'weep' or disappear on my cake. So far, so good. Will see how it does after sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Perfect as long as you half the amount of sweetened condensed milk like others suggested. I didn't have coconut cream so I used equal amount of coconut milk which also helped keep the over-sweet taste down. I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jr911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have made this cake lots of times and everyone who has tried it raves about it. I do use a butter cake mix instead of the white cake mix. Also have topped it off with pineapple with toasted coconut. I agree that you need to let it cool first before refrigerating the cake. Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Super tasty! Perfect dessert for any coconut lover. Best made early to let the cream soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Outstanding! Gets better with time. My husband and I finished the cake in 3 days! I told him we can't do that again, and I'll only make it if people are coming over or we are taking it somewhere. It is so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I am an amateur baker, so this recipe was not too good because I followed the directions to a tee. I added all the coco cream/sweetened cond milk. It just pooled around the edges. After letting it set all night in the frig, the cake was mushy, wet and not good! If I had more baking experience, I would have known not to add all the mixture. I did add plenty of holes, too. So there was plenty of holes for the milk mixture to run through. I should only have used half of the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I don't normally write reviews, but this coconut cake was amazing! I made it for a summer BBQ and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was I used a little over half of the can of sweetened condensed milk. It was perfect, the whipped cream topping keeps the cake nice and light with the perfect amount of sweetness in the cake. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
made this for my doctor's birthday.she is very picky and everybody at work loved it. so very moist. am making it again for a co-worker that usually asks for red velvet. i am not a cake person..and i loved it too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
The best cake ever! I made this for hawaiian night! The whole family loved it. The inside was not dry (thank god) because it was creamed for 7 hours! The icing with the coconut flakes was absolutly splendid. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlo's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
oh my i love this cake i thought i would never make a cake that tasted like it came from a bakery store and it was so easy to i sheard it with my nighbors and they injoyed it so i gave them the recpie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States