Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
It's true, this is a great recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and it looks and smells wonderful. I used the buttercream frosting recipe on the powdered sugar box and added a little coconut extract to it. It was fun assembling it and the shortcut using a box mix was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cyoung325
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Such a simple cake and it tastes so good! I ended up using coconut milk and the whole can of sweetened condensed milk and it was a little bit wetter than I would have liked. It ended up having a small amount of syrup left over which I worked into the whipped cream frosting. I decided to make 2 9-inch round cakes and put some of the frosting in between the two so I had to double the frosting ingredients and flaked coconut. I think it ended up looking quite pretty and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
very flavorful cake and easy too! Be careful not to poke holes all the way to the bottom of the pan or the liquid will sit in the bottom making it soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Anyone who knows me knows that I am a coconut addict! This cake is one of my most favorite recipes. I use Trader Joe's vanilla bean cake mix (tastes like home-made). I don't use the full can of condensed milk because I don't like things that sweet. I also add a little coconut extract to the milk mixture. I've also found that this cake tastes better and better each day it stays in the fridge. I like to make it one or two days in advance. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I never make a cake with a cake mix but this sounded really good so I tried it. I have only given this cake three stars because it is made with a box cake. This cake was okay but I think using a white or coconut cake recipe from scratch would make it a 5+ star cake. I will try it and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is my go-to coconut cream cake, and it always gets a lot of compliments. I make it as stated, but instead of this frosting I make a fluffy cream cheese frosting (1 block of soft cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tub of cool whip). I also leave off the coconut flakes, just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy1457

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Way better than expected, everyone loved it and adding the coconut extract to the cream was perfect. I could only find cream of coconut (instead of coconut cream) but just adjusted the amount of condensed milk to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Tried this coconut cake and it was delicious! I only looked at the first two reviews and they were very helpful. What I had to work around initially was the photo showed a layer cake and the recipe is for a 9x13. Would like to know other opinions on which works better. For Easter, I was preferring the layer look. Much more elegant! I used the coconut milk (unsweetened) and with almost the entire can of sweetened condensed milk. The mixture was more runny than I expected. Because I made the cake in two layers, I put the mixture in a measuring cup and drizzled over the layers, which I placed on a cutting board, side by side. I was careful to not poke all the way through the layers, and any sauce that ended up on the board was due to it running down the layer and off. I did not use it all, in total it made a little more than 2 cups and I think about 1/2 cup was leftover. I did cool it before putting it in the fridge, like was suggested in the second review. I recommend whipping up the frosting just before you serve it or that morning. I did not have the time to do that so I had to frost the night before, the cake subsequently ran. After a little patching the next day it was fine and was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delish!! So good and not to sweet! Like others said, if you can't find Coconut cream, you can get cream of coconut in the liquor section just remember to leave out the sweetened condensed milk. I used a little evaporated milk to thin out the cream of coconut, and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This really is the best cake. I make it every Easter. I dye the coconut green to look like grass and add jelly eggs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States