Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This cake is AMAZING! I made the cake exactly the way the recipe specified except for one thing. I did not pour all of the sauce over the cake. The sauce is delicious, but it's very sweet, and there is a lot of sauce. I didn't want the cake to be too sweet or mushy so I stopped pouring after I had poured about 2/3 of the sauce. I'm still giving this recipe 5 stars though because the recipe did state at the top that you didn't have to use all the sauce. Overall this cake is really good! My family loved it, and half of them don't even like coconut lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Wow! This came out amazing. I used Duncan Hines white cake mix and I could only find coconut cream powder at the store but it worked out fine. I made the whipped topping but also had a can of reddi whip and i actually prefer it with this cake since it's not as sweet as the topping from this recipe. Definitely a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake is AWESOME!! I made it for Easter and every one just LOVED it. I did have a problem with the milk mixture running under the cake but it was still good; next time I will poke larger holes so it can absorb into the cake instead of running under. I decorated it with green dyed coconut and scattered jelly bean "eggs" over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for Easter and it was a HIT! Everyone loved it! So moist, not cloyingly sweet, and just delicious. Easy to make too! Doesn't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was amazing! It turned out to be a homerun with the family too. I'm not much of a baker but this sure was easy enough to pull off =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. I bought the ingredients, and while I found coconut MILK at 3 different stores, I proceeded to hunt down coconut CREAM at a 4th store, Whole Foods. I did not read the reviews here first, as the instructions were simple and I knew that everyone in my family likes coconut. Hence, I've finished the cake this morning with the whipped cream, and proceeded to have a piece of cake, I am so disappointed that no one will be able to finish one piece of this 13 x 9 cake. I love the flavor, but entirely tooooo sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have just made the cake portion and am wondering if I use sweetened or plain coconut? If someone could let me know, I'd appreciate it. Thanks you (and fingers crossed)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this for school yesterday, for a faculty breakfast. Everyone enjoyed it and asked for the recipe. There is none left! I wish I had taken a picture-will do that next time I make it. It makes a "picture-prefect" cake and was superb! I may cut the condensed milk in half next time, as it is a really sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
OK, I need to stop eating this cake! I made it almost exactly like the original instructions except for three things: I used coconut milk instead of cream; I used egg whites instead of whole eggs; and, I baked in two 8" pans instead of a 9 X 13". The only drawback that I did not account for was the cream mixture made the cakes difficult to remove from their pans after the chilling period. So, it got a little sloppy there -- but frosting covers many cake sins! Especially this lovely, light whipped cream frosting covered with coconut flakes. And I have to stop eating this cake! Thanks to GPAIN for the recipe and to Allrecipes for highlighting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebugsmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I added lime juice into the whip cream as well as coconut extract it tasted amazing and gave it that extra lil flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States