Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Just to clear up the confusion on the coconut cream vs. cream of coconut- Coconut cream is NOT sweet, it is called COCONUT CREAM, NOT cream of coconut. This product mixed with sweetened condensed milk is perfect and not too thick OR too sweet. IF you bought cream of coconut instead and mixed it with sweetened condensed milk it would be very sweet and very thick and probably ruin this cake. Coco Lopez and the brands found in the mixed drink section are incorrect for this recipe. Most stores carry all 3 kinds of canned cocnut product; coconut cream, coconut milk, and cream of coconut. The coconut cream is usually located in the Thai/Asian food section with the coconut milk. I did not use quite all of my cream mixture but I used most of it. I also drained some of the excess from the bottom of the pan out before it soaked it all up. Other than this I think the recipe is perfect as is, as long as you know the difference between the coconut products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meldaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The 2 stars is for the idea. I was so excited to try this cake but it was a HUGE letdown. I love coconut in almost anything so i thought this would be great. However it ended up tasting just like box cake mix (ew). The coconut flavor was totally lost. This tasted like a regular soggy box cake that was too sweet. If I ever try this again I will definitely make the cake from scratch and use less sugar in the batter and less condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Amazing! My father said it was better than his mother's coconut cake and that says a LOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sewergrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very yummy and much easier than coconut cake recipes I have tried in the past. I wanted to make cupcakes with the recipe and to avoid soaking the paper liners with the coconut milk mixture, I used a baster and injected each cupcake with about 1-2 T of it. Much cleaner and just as yummy. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious, moist, very,very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitcat78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brazoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Made a crude version of this -yum! But It didn't have much oil in it, so it crumbled a little. I'd add a tad more: almost half a cup, stirred in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klineellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
EPIC cake!!!!! unbelievably moist and everyone loved it!! Only thing I did different is a added a small amount of the coconut cream mixture to the whip cream, made a double layer round and toasted the coconut......will keep this recipe forever!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was amazing. I used it with the Creamy Buttercream Frosting recipe from this site and toasted coconut on the sides. Very moist with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent!!! Only used half the cream as there didn't seem room in the pan for the cake to soak it all up. Next time I will use all the cream though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel Cou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is perfect part homemade part store bought, which was perfect for the busy holiday baking season and best of all it was so easy, with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States