Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I used the coconut cream that is sweet so I did not use the sweetened condensed milk. The cake was perfect! Made the cool whip with pudding to frost it. My family likes the coconut taste but not the shredded coconut so I just added a little more coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I've made this recipe for nearly 30 yrs. My mother-in-law gave it to me shortly after I was married, and the first time I tasted it I was in love! I have changed the way I make it now though. While I used to pour the entire liquid mixture of sweetened condensed milk and cream of coconut over the cake, now I only use HALF of this mixture, and I freeze the other half for the next cake. It freezes VERY well! I've found the cake is a little lighter this way, and just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This cake was A-MAZING. I followed the instructions exactly and it came out perfectly. My brother loved his birthday cake so much, I'm going to make it for him every year! The only thing that didn't go as planned is the removal of the cake. I was trying to do a double layer but the cake was so sticky and moist (which is what makes it so good!) that I couldn't remove it from the pan. It's one of those cakes where you just cut out individual slices and go from there. I will be trying it again with a spring form pan and see how that goes. It's the best coconut cake recipe I've ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Amazing cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My whole family loved it. I used the Cool Whipped Frosting from this site and toasted the coconut flakes like suggested in other reviews. I will be making this cake for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was fantastic! I made cupcakes instead of a cake. I also used the cram of coconut not coconut milk. Combined with the condensed milk it made a very thick syrup and was a little difficult to pour over the cupcakes. I'm sure it would be easier and less messy if I'd make a cake instead. The only change I made was to add about a teaspoon of coconut extract to the whipped cream icing. I also used a combination of toasted and untoasted coconut for the topping. They are wonderfully light and refreshing. This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
INCREDIBLY MOIST! Delicious - I had no coconut extract so I left that out. Still fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is my go to cake from now on...It was simply delicious.....If I can give more stars I will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I make this cake all the time with everybody asking for the recipe. I follow the cake mix instructions and I don't use the sweetened condensed milk. I only use the cream of cocconut and never have too much for a 9x13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winn, Maine, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Delicious!!! I was very skeptical, but other reviewers were right, by day 3, this cake was unbelievable!!!! Still good on day one. Next time I will up the coconut extract to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
So good! Highly recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengirl90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States