Coconut-Cornflake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These are delicious! I made them last night to send to my boyfriend for Valentine's Day and I had to hide them because my family kept eating them! I only used a 1/2 cup of sugar and they are the perfect sweetness. yum! ::EDIT:: Oct 2010. I made these again tonight and they didn't turn out at all. I followed the recipe except for cutting down on the sugar. The only thing I can think of is that my eggs weren't quite stiff enough or that because the shredded coconut is so different here (I'm in Australia now). They just will not stick together though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I love this recipe. They are very very sweet but is full of goodness. I did cut the sugar in half because I used Frosted Flakes. Even if you use plan corn flakes I think you could still cut out some sugar. My boyfriend doesn't even like coconunt that much and he ate them up. On the last batch I experimented and put almond pieces in and they were even better they candied in the cookie but gave it something other than sugar. A winning recipe. I wish I had found it at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Couldn't be easier! You get the crunchy and chewy in one very delicious cookie. Like the other reviewers, I reduced the sugar and the morsels were plently sweet. Ill definately be making these again, my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These are not bad but they are very sweet. I love sweet stuff so I completely disregarded the reviews warning of this. If you like coconut candies, you'll love this. If you're looking for cookie in the traditional sense, this will be a bit of a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
We LOVED these cookies! My husband, who thought he hated coconut, tried one and was hooked. He just asked when I was going to make his favorite cookies again - meaning these. Yes they are very sweet, but that is fine with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BillJaber
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Would have been a 5 star if not for being way too sweet. Reduced sugar by half and it was still a little sweet. It seems to be better the second day.. seems to be less sticky. Experimented with a few adding mini-chocolate chips.. it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Cookies were way to sweet for my liking. I even cut down on the sugar. I think they would be better with a bit less coconut and a little more cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made these for my coconut-loving mom. They're very sticky and chewy, but still a little crunchy. So so so delicious and easy to make. I've made them twice; once in the spur of the moment when company came over because they can be made so fast. Even a little burnt, they're delicious (they taste like toasted marshmallows then). I did reduce the sugar to a cup, and they were still really really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
If you love coconut you will love these! They are really sweet though so I could see using a little less sugar if you prefer. It took about 4-5 minutes to get the stiff egg whites. I used a silpat for baking and found they came off the silpat easily as long as I waited a few minutes before removing them. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
These taste like store-bought cookies! I followed the advice of others and cut the sugar by half (I think the amount of sugar you need depends on whether or not you use sweetened coconut flakes or not). If you are a coconut lover, these are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States