Coconut Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
It was good.....Not great but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Wonderful- I wanted a chocolate coconut cake for Easter and this was perfect. I don't recommend the canned frosting - make your own instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I thought this recipe made too much of the filling. It tasted great, but I did end up tossing half of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I love chocolate and I love coconut. I followed Naples ganach suggestion. Tastes just like a mounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Ok, first of all, most reviewers here who gave this 5 stars changed something. That's fine, however, if you make the filling AS IS it does come out really sticky and hard to work with. Really delicious, but many complained about not liking the texture of coconut flakes being in the middle of a cake. I would suggest grinding them really fine before heating them to make the filling. Also, I used devil's food cake recipe from this site which made the cake part amazing, and some said it was one of my best cakes yet (paired with the coconut filling). I used chocolate ganache instead of the frosting cited, because it seemed to be flawed. Basically, I am only reviewing the coconut filling here and I would definaltey grind the coconut flakes really fine first, and not boil the milk so long to insure a softer more flexible filling to work with. The taste was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was a hit hit at my house, tasted like a Bounty bar. Thank you:) However I agree with some of the posters who said that the filling was a bit sticky, any suggestions on how to avoid that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofia82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My daughter requested this cake for her birthday and we all thought it was yummy. Instead of using marshmallows I decided on marshmallow cream and had no problem spreading the filling. Like some other reviewers I made a ganache using semi sweet chocolate chips. Thank you so much Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by nmaf02
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
The coconut filling was very good. I didn't have dark chocolate cake mix on hand so I used a Betty Crocker chocolate fudge cake mix. It came out nice and moist.The filling was a bit difficult to spread. I also made a chocolate ganache that a reviewer suggested. I think it paired well with the cake. I topped it with some shredded coconut and chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmaf02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
awsome, i make this with cupcakes to. just fill muffin cups with chocolate batter 3/4 full and add a dollop of coconut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Awesome. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States