Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This is a great recipe and even if you tweak or substitute things a little it is pretty reliable to turn out yummy! For example, I didn't have lime juice so I used lemon and my son eats GF so I used GF crumbs instead of panko and I combined all dry ingredients together, the GF flour, coconut and crumbs and the results were 5 start dining! As for the sauce, I took advise from others and tweaked it a bit to suit the taste of my family...i still used the mayo and coconut milk but I added soy sauce about a tsp and cayenne for spice. DELICIOUS chicken...my 8 and 2 year old devoured it, my daughter was on the fence (a little too different for her) and my hubby loved it and is having the left overs for lunch! I made it as chicken breasts and served it with side salads. Thanks for this awesome and unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My husband said "this is the best thing you have ever made" - fun to bread with my daughter - I didn't have any raw eggs, so we used chicken broth to coat. I never actually heard of this (and have been to buffets) - but it tastes so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I was skeptical, but this is a great recipe! It reminds me of coconut shrimp you commonly see on restaurant menus. I did not make the sauce to go on the side, but I bet sweet chili sauce would go really well with it (though I didn't try it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Would not make again, flavors didnt mesh well for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I really liked this recipe as a base. I bought some coconut for another recipe and needed to find another way to use it up. This worked. I of course pounded the chicken out so that it cooks quicker and stays moister. I used flax as an egg replacer and mixed it with the soy sauce and lemon instead of lime. I mixed the marinade in with the flax to coat the chicken and just used panko/coconut to coat. The breading adhered beautifully. I used sour cream instead of mayo and added a bit of soy sauce to the coconut cream sauce topping. It was not bursting with taste but had a very pleasant and mild coconut flavor. I probably won't make the recipe again because my kids didn't care for it. More for an adult palette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
this recipe was nasty to make and i would never make this for my family again ,i have only found two recipes on this site i would never make again and this is one of them , talk about no taste no seasoning in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This chicken recipe is easy and delicious! Will be making again! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I did something wrong when I made the gravy..I think I just need to cook it longer. But the chicken didn't even need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This turned out quite tasty. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Really good! I didn't make the sauce for dipping but the chicken turned out great! My picky 3 year old even loved it. I will definitely make it again! I did not have coconut milk or lime juice so I marinaded with regular milk and lemon juice. Also, I had to use 2 eggs- small adjustments. Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States