Coconut Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
These are very sweet! I had to add extra coconut because the consistency wasn't thick enough even though I got it to the desired temp listed in the recipe. I think using UNSWEETENED coconut would be better. As others have said, this recipe makes a lot of candies. I scooped up almost 60.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I substituted almond extract for the vanilla. I put an almond in the center of each ball and then chilled for one hour. I melted dark chocolate wafers and dipped each ball and chilled again. They taste pretty close to the Almond Joy but a lot fresher! They were a big hit at the Church bazaar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I add a little less sugar and changed it up by dipping them in chocolate. Daughter loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey & Addie's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I decided that just twelve weren't going to be enough for my family, so I doubled the batch. I had to dump the sugar/milk mixture into a stock pot not too long into the cooking process bacause it started to overflow. When I started scooping it out onto the wax paper, it started spreading really bad, so I waited a little bit to let it cool, when it was a consistance of creamed butter and sugar I scooped the rest out and it is doing well setting up. I should have read some more reviews...as the double batch made over fifty treats. I am going to drizzle or dip some in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I followed the instructions exactly, and they did not set up right. This was my first try really making candy though. I am sure that it is an art. Even though they did not set up, they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This recipe was okay...I thought it was way to sugary and so eating just one kinda made me a little sick. I think that if you were to add a little less sugar and maybe change it up by dipping them in chocolate, even just one side it would look pretty and break up the flavor just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe was good. I love really sweet stuff, however, this was too much! Next time I will add more coconut to balance out the sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I double the recipe to make as Christmas gifts this year, based on all the good reviews. I boiled and boiled the milk and sugar with a candy thermometer for about 20 minutes and the temp never reached the 240 mark. I finally gave up and poured it out on 2 cookie sheets, hoping it would set and I could cut into bars. Of course, they never really solidified, so I added some mini-choc chips, poured it into jars and called it "Coconut Ice Cream Topping". LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Tastes like a coconut praline - very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States