Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Okeechobee07
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I love this recipe. It was my first time baking coconut cake and I have to say it was so good. The cake turned out so delicious. I frosted it with buttercream-coconut frosting. My boyfriend loved it so much too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a RAVE!!!!! EVERYONE LOVED IT!!! IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A DELICIOUS RECIPE THAT WILL GET EVERYONE WILL WANT MORE.....IN MY OPINION THIS IS IT!!!????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I don't know what the fuss is about unless you purchased one of those cheap aluminum tube pans which are not made for genuine baking. I also bake all the time and I had zero problem. I made two of them at the same time...one in a 10" tube pan and another in a bundt pan. My bundt pan is a good quality one and so is my tube pan. I used the spray with flour and butter in it for the pan and covered it thoroughly. It is important to use enough to completely cover the pan. Then I put it all in the pans and baked it for an hour and 15 minutes to ensure both were done. I checked them both at an hour and neither was ready to remove. 15 minutes more and they were perfect. I allowed them to cool in the pan enough to remove them easily and voila! Two perfect cakes. One for home and one for a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Yum! Just made this cake as cupcakes and they're delicious -- and I haven't even frosted them yet! I baked them for 20 minutes which was perfect in my oven. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as suggested and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla because, really, vanilla makes everything better! The coconut flavor is perfect, not overwhelming but flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
My husband loves coconut, and I started making this cake for him on his birthday the year we met - I just popped it in the oven a few minutes ago for the seventh year in a row! The only modification I make to the recipe is adding a box of instant vanilla pudding mix to up the moistness factor. It is definitely a rich dessert, so a tiny sliver is all I need to be full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
DO NOT MAKE THIS CAKE. Disaster! Find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I read most of the reviews i follow the recipe the same as listed i flour my pan more because i read people having a hard time my cake come out the pan perfect when u make.the cake you have to do the dry ingredients I'm guessing when you mix the dry n while sitting is what good for the cake i frostin the cake with cream cheese frostin instead of 2 vanilla i use one of each coconut n vanilla the cake was very good to me.dry but still this cake was so good good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Gaines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was really great. I made it mostly word for word. I did add coconut extract 2T, and coconut instant pudding ( 2 small boxes), everything else exactly the same. I am not even a fan of coconut anything- i made this for a friend who is, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this cake. However I went with the comments and reduced the sugar to 1 3/4 cups, I also added one teaspoon to baking soda and one teaspoon of vanilla extract too. The taste was divine! However I don't know what I did wrong because the cake fell in the centre. Maybe it was because I used a deep pan? Definitely using this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ree
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My cake came out only 3 inches high but the taste was a big hit for my Chef husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States