Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I think 4 minutes is way too long to mix the batter. My cake turned out a little tougher than I would have liked. But it's no matter. My roommate still said it was the best cake she'd ever had! The toasted coconut is SO pretty, and the texture is great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
YUMMY!! I made it just like the recipe reads - it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
It was okay, but you should chop the walnuts up fine, I didn't and my cake fell apart. Also, personal preference it seems like it would be better with the addition of some pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I'm not a fan of coconut but this is one cake even I could eat. Very good. I get LOTS of kudos from anyone who tastes it. I do make a few changes though. I use 1/2 vanilla pudding mix and 1/2 coconut pudding mix. I also add coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Great cake, Diane! I exchanged the veg.oil with the cream of coconut. I stuck with the yellow mix as I don't care for white cake. Used Pecans instead of the walnuts, and used coconut pudding instead of the vanilla. Shredded the coconut up fine. For the frosting I used my own made up recipe as the one here would have been too sweet for my family. I bought instant coconut pudding and 8 oz of cream cheese. Mixed together and spread on cake. Put a thin layer of cool whip on top of the pudding mix and topped it off by adding toasted coconut on top. Had never toasted coconut before. So good that way. Easy-just put in oven for a few minutes. Keep an eye out as they brown up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I made this cake for a birthday and got great reviews! It was easy to make and incredibly moist. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Nice texture and taste. I added more cream of coconut to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This cake was very easy to make and everyone at work loved it. IN fact, I am making a chocolate version this week for another co-worker's birthday. I a scant tablespoon of butter to saute the coconut and then finished by briefly toasting it in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very Very tasty and it makes much cake mix. Everyone in my family liked it and I would say that out of three other cakes I made, this was the one that was finished. Only thing I would change is its sweetness. It was very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used pecans instead of walnuts and vanilla flavored cake mix instead of yellow. The cake was a huge hit with my friends. Delicious and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States