Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a good recipe, nice and easy. I Made the bunny cake as seen on a video on this website with the toasted coconut and marshmallows, it was perfect. I didnt put the nuts in the cake mix and I also used shredded coconut instead of flaked and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I don't even like coconut and these were amazing! I made cupcakes and they were so moist and wonderful. The toasted coconut is what really made it. Frosting was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Linske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Really disliked this recipe. The coconut and yellow cake do not mesh well, and the frosting was awful. Tasted like sweet cream cheese. Would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I never liked coconut until this cake. The toasted buttery crunchy coconut on top makes it even better. Only coconut you will ever see me eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynni Thorne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Forestville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
So good, and so easy! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very good - moist and flavorful. My father in law has a coconut cake every year and his favorite bakery stopped making them. I made this one because of the high reviews and was pleased. I added probably 1/2 c applesauce because of some reviewiers saying it was dry. I was disappointed that it was yellow instead of white so i might sub another cake mix, but it tasted so good id hate to mess it up. FIL didn't mind the yellow. He likes a different icing though so I made the icing from the "6 layer coconut cake" recipe on this site. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Out of all the cakes I make this is my husband's favorite. Its so moist and coconuty! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made this for my mom's birthday, and with the following changes it turned out excellent! For the batter, I omitted nuts and chopped the coconut finely. Then I split the two 9 inch cakes into 4 layers and filled it with the pineapple topping recipe also from this site. For the frosting, It would have been way too sweet for my asian tastebuds, and so I used 1 8 oz package of cream cheese and only 3/4 cup sugar! YES, it might sound like too little but the cake itself is already extremely sweet. After frosting the cake, I toasted 2 cups of coconut and smothered the entire cake with it so it looked like one big toasted snowball. The flavor was out of this world. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
It was ok. The cake was crumbly and the frosting too sugary, subing pudding sounds like it would have been better. It's not going to stay in my house as it will not get eaten. I will look at at more coconut cake recipes before I try it again w/ making substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This cake is amazing! I use 2 8 or 9" rounds, split them and fill with raspberry jam. I've used this frosting recipe but there's another one I like better. This cake is amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States