Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is really an awesome cake! So many people ask for the recipe when I bring it to events. It is very moist and tastes delicious! I usually use a white cake mix, just because I like the flavor a bit better, but really I have not changed a thing on the recipe other than that. If you like coconut, this is fab!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYTAMALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I get rave reviews every time I make this cake, but I exclude the walnuts and use half a box of vanilla instant pudding and half a box of coconut creme instant pudding plus 1 tsp of coconut extract. For the frosting, I use a 7-minute frosting made of egg whites and sugar and then sprinkle 2 cups Baker's Coconut on top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made the recipe as is except for using 2 rounds instead of the 9X13. It was so tasty. It is rich. So like someone else said, the cake goes a long way with a crowd since a small piece is so rich. The icing was a bit sweet for my taste but everyone else just loved it! I'll definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is VERY rich and a good dessert for a crowd, as a small piece will satisfy. Part of that richness is the creme cheese icing. So, on a portion of the cake (to lighten the load), I instead tried a dollop of whipped cream sprinkled with some of the buttered/browned coconut. REALLY good! Also, prepared without the creme cheese icing, the cake doesn't require refrigeration. Cake is a bit crumbly, but very tasty whichever topping you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I made exactly as directed, except I used 2 round cake pans instead of the 9x13, and my family RAVED about this cake. My mom is making it for a potluck this week. This cake is definitely sticky-sweet and for coconut lovers only, but that describes my whole family, so it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is such an easy recipe and it is very good. I made it for my friends and everyone just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Cake was miost, but not much coconut flavor. Way to much frosting for my taste.Will try with coconut cream or flavoring the next time. Great if you dont like strong flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peebles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
LOVED IT! Made it for my boyfriend's birthday and he loved it too! I used the 9x13 pan and cut it in half to make the double layer. It was my first time to double a cake but turned out great! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this cake for my son's 6th birthday because he loves coconut. It was so easy and came out sooooo nice. I was almost going to skip the toasted coconut topping but am so glad i didnt, it adds so much to the finished cake. I also baked mine in a springfoam pan for 45 minutes. This cake is huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I used a white cake mix instead since that always reminds me of coconut cake. I also used coconut buttercream icing instead. 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening, coconut flavoring, 1 lb powdered sugar, 2 or 3 TBS milk, and 2 cups coconut. It was so yummy. A HUGE hit on Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States