Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this for Easter dinner and it received great reviews. I toasted all the coconut used in the frosting and used just half the sugar (it is plenty sweet). I added 1/2 cup crushed pineapple to the batter, and used cream of coconut instead of the oil. I baked in 2 9" pans and just frosted in between the layers and on top, adding cherries for decoration. This cake is yummy and very moist, but VERY sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made this for picky dinner guests and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Wow! Very moist and delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I loved the toasted coconut on the top. I toasted mine in the oven with out mixing it with any butter and it came out perfect. I didn't care for the addition of the nuts in the cake batter. A good cake though and good icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this cake for my sister's birthday since she requested a coconut cake, and everyone liked it! It was a bit too sweet though, so make sure you cute small slices. However, it'd be a mess to try to cut small slices because the cake was so soft and crumbly. The frosting was delicious as well. I made the cake using two round pans. I will try to do cupcakes with this and leave the coconut out of the frosting and just top it with the roasted coconut. Delicious with a glass of cold milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
There are several steps involved, but the instructions are well written and easy to follow. It's the first time I've ever browned coconut, and not only is it attractive on the cake, it tastes wonderful. My wife couldn't believe how good it was. She said she would be getting up in the middle of the night for more. I am not a big cake fan, but if all cakes were this good, I might change my cake tune.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe was easy to follow and produced a very moist cake. I tweaked it a bit by using coconut milk instead of water and replaced the vanilla extract with coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Made it 9 x 13. It is very light and airy so a little hard to cut, tends to fall apart. But,....it is delicious, a real hit with the family so will definately make again. Needs to bake longer than recipe states. If you are a coconut fan, this is your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This cake is absolutely, insanely, sweet! I love sweets, but could barely finish a piece. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but used coconut milk instead of regular milk. I also withheld the walnuts. This is one cake that I will be sure to make to wow friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very good moist! Husband loved it. very moist. Next time i might add some raisins. This was the easiest coconut cake that I have ever made. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States