Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Okay but not to die for. My husband did seem to enjoy it though. Not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Made this for a church Christmas dinner.Everyone loved it.They all wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This cake tasted nothing like coconut cake. The thing good about the cake was the toasted coconut on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I did not follow the recipe exactly- and perhaps should not rate this- but it was DELICIOUS! Minimal changes I made- I used coconut flavored instant pudding along with a dark chocolate cake mix. The toasted coconut gave the overall flavor such a unique taste and texture- for all coconut lovers- this recipe is divine. I made this for my significant other for his birthday and he loved it (coconut fiend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I followed the directions exactly, cake came out great but there was trouble cutting it. I was a little crumbly but still very moist. Overall,it would have gotten five stars if it didn't fall apart so easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Cake recipe is AWESOME. Made it for Father in Law for FAther's day (favorite cake, no pressure) and it is as moist as everyone says. I took the advice of subbing coconut milk for some of the water (1 c. coco milk; 1/3 c. water) and it came out beautifully fluffy and moist. Wow. This one is a keeper! Now, onto the frosting: for those of you traditionalists who need a 7-minute frosting on a coconut cake...i hate to tell you that this cream cheese frosting pairs beautifully with the coconut cake. this is a total keeper. I think my father in law will want this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I made this cake last last week, followed all the directions and it turned out really yummy!!! me and my husband loves it a lot so definitely will bake it again ang again so we can share it to everybody. Thank you for sharing Thumbs Up for YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ailyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have looked for a really good coconut cake for a long time, and i finally found one here. The cake was moist and delicious, but the frosting (which I substituted cocnut extract instead of the vanilla)was to die for!!! So Yummy. You could eat the frosting all by itself. My family loved this cake and especially frosting. This is our new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This has a great flavor! I used this for the second layer of a 3 teir cake. Its very moist and I've very glad that it only had to support 2 six in rounds. I used a lemon frosting which went beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
My husband is from california, and I'm from the Bible Belt...he wanted coconut cake for his birthday, and I had never cooked with coconut before. This cake turned out AWESOME! I used just a lil bit more milk in the icing, to help it spread better. NO ONE could stop eating it...my poor husband only got one peice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States