Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this cake for my husband since he had it as a child, but I hadn't. We followed the recipe exactly. The cake was delicious and moist but the frosting was so cloyingly sweet it really ruined the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Made these as cupcakes for a tea party. But omitted the walnuts due to allergies. Didn't use the frosting listed, instead I cheated and used a can of French Vanilla from Betty Crocker and whipped it with a package of cream cheese and spinkled with the toasted coconut. EXCELLENT! This recipe was so good that even coconut haters loved it! People couldn't believe that this was a box recipe. P.S. Do NOT toast the coconut with butter. You don't need anything added into the pan to toast, just keep moving the coconut so it doesn't burn. Great recipe.. a must try. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I make this for my mother in law every 6 months or so. So now requests this for any party or event. Very easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASunleaf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This cake was DELICIOUS. I used the 4 egg yellow cake recipe from this site and then added the pudding mix + 1/4 C. of cream of coconut. I put the coconut into the food processor so it was in smaller flakes and chopped the walnuts so they weren't in huge pieces. The cake had a wonderful flavor (the nuts were awesome) even though it wasn't very coconutty. I had plenty to make 3 decent sized layers. For the frosting, I doubled the recipe (and had some extra left over). I added about 4 Tbsp. of cream of coconut to the recipe and used around 1 1/2 C. less of sugar and still found it to be a bit too sweet, although it was so so so so good. I also food processed the coconut that went into the frosting so it wasn't so lumpy. I topped the cake with the toasted coconut and additional chopped walnuts which was perfect. Everyone loved this cake at Easter I am pretty sure I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
One of my guests has a walnut allergy, so I substituted macadamia nuts. YUM! My husband said he couldn't imagine a better cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Wonderful cake (make your own from scratch!) My dad requests this every chance he gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Wade Ampe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! My new favorite cake. I added 2 tsp coconut extract to the cake batter and left out the walnuts. Do not just toast the coconut in the oven. Browning it in the butter makes a difference. This is worth 20 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a "to die for" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This cake is moist and delicious. My only revision for next time...I will only put coconut on the top of the cake. Adding coconut to the cake part made it messy to cut and it fell apart. No one else complained as they devoured it! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States