Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I used this recipe for the frosting only. I gave it just four stars because I didn't love the coconut browned with sugar - it was too moist. So, I did that part over by simply browning the coconut on a baking sheet in the oven. I made cupcakes from a box mix and evev with lots of frosting on all 24 cupcakes I had leftover! Delish and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this recipe for my daughter's 1st Birthday and it was a HUGE hit!!I used Duncan Hines brand for the cake mix. Sooo good:) Thanks for this recipe! I will be making this cake for her birthdays from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marichan0210

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Delicious! I agree with others that, aside from the coconut pieces, the cake itself did not taste very coconut-ty, but I thought it was moist and delicious just the same. I made a two layer 9" round cake and only baked it for 24 minutes. Also, I added 1.5 cups of powdered sugar and 2 T butter to the frosting to get a little more and make it more of a cross between cream cheese and buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Made this for Easter and even my sister who doesn't like coconut loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made this cake this morning for Easter dessert. Was very easy and looks and smells delicious. Made 2 9" rounds instead of 9x13. Followed the recipe exactly except I replaced coconut extract for vanilla, and used white cake mix. I added an additional 4 oz of cream cheese to frosting mix as we like frosting and I thought it would cut down on the sweetness. This worked well for me.Set this aside for my top cover of frosting. I took the other 4 oz of cream cheese and whipped it up with 1 tbl. of melted butter and one pkg of vanilla instant pudding, added tsp or so of milk to get texture I wanted and threw in about 1/2 cup coconut. This I used between my layers before frosting top. Wanted to use coconut pudding..but I had none. This worked well also. Gtreat cake! Will definately keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Very good cake and easy! The only change I made was that I used lemon pudding instead of the vanilla. My duaghter wanted and lemon/coconut clake for her birthday and she got it.....yummy! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This cake is amazing! The only thing that I changed was I used white cake mix and to add a little extra flavor to my cake I added a can of crushed pineapple. Just make sure you drain the juice out of the pineapple. Love love love this and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This cake is amazing!! I made exactly as listed the first time and the next time I used pecans instead of walnuts. Both were simple wonderful. I make it every year for Christmas and for my mother-in-laws birthday. It is her favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A big hit every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! Loved by all. I did not make the frosting. I used butter cream from can and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States