Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Delicious! I agree with others that, aside from the coconut pieces, the cake itself did not taste very coconut-ty, but I thought it was moist and delicious just the same. I made a two layer 9" round cake and only baked it for 24 minutes. Also, I added 1.5 cups of powdered sugar and 2 T butter to the frosting to get a little more and make it more of a cross between cream cheese and buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Made this for Easter and even my sister who doesn't like coconut loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made this cake this morning for Easter dessert. Was very easy and looks and smells delicious. Made 2 9" rounds instead of 9x13. Followed the recipe exactly except I replaced coconut extract for vanilla, and used white cake mix. I added an additional 4 oz of cream cheese to frosting mix as we like frosting and I thought it would cut down on the sweetness. This worked well for me.Set this aside for my top cover of frosting. I took the other 4 oz of cream cheese and whipped it up with 1 tbl. of melted butter and one pkg of vanilla instant pudding, added tsp or so of milk to get texture I wanted and threw in about 1/2 cup coconut. This I used between my layers before frosting top. Wanted to use coconut pudding..but I had none. This worked well also. Gtreat cake! Will definately keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Very good cake and easy! The only change I made was that I used lemon pudding instead of the vanilla. My duaghter wanted and lemon/coconut clake for her birthday and she got it.....yummy! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This cake is amazing! The only thing that I changed was I used white cake mix and to add a little extra flavor to my cake I added a can of crushed pineapple. Just make sure you drain the juice out of the pineapple. Love love love this and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This cake is amazing!! I made exactly as listed the first time and the next time I used pecans instead of walnuts. Both were simple wonderful. I make it every year for Christmas and for my mother-in-laws birthday. It is her favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A big hit every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! Loved by all. I did not make the frosting. I used butter cream from can and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Best cake I've ever made / had... I cook a lot, but I don't bake much so I was worried about making a good enough cake for my husband's birthday. I used some of the modifications suggested by others -- white cake mix instead of yellow, coconut pudding instead of vanilla, coconut extract instead of vanilla, chopping up the coconut in a food processor before adding it to the cake mix and frosting -- and I omitted the walnuts and toasted the coconut without the butter. I used 2 9-in round pans and I think I baked it a little longer (perhaps because the cake mix already had pudding in the mix). But it was soooo moist and heavenly and delicious. He and I both loved it, as well as my coworkers who I took pieces too. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this cake for my husband since he had it as a child, but I hadn't. We followed the recipe exactly. The cake was delicious and moist but the frosting was so cloyingly sweet it really ruined the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States