Coconut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
I have looked for a coconut cake everywhere and this is the first recipe I actually tried because it had coconut in the cake and not just on top! The cake has an excellent crumb and keeps well. I rated it "easy" because even though it is a "from scratch" cake, it isn't difficult to follow the steps and come out with a great product. For Easter, I tinted some shredded coconut in green, pink and yellow and sprinkled it over the top and sides of the iced cake. Looked great and added a nice texture. I will make it again without the extra coconut. The icing is lightly sweet and sets off the cake nicely. It is the same icing I use on chocolate cakes and on Red Velvet cake. Three cheers for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I was trying to replace an old family recipe for coconut cake that was lost, this was almost identical, my family loved it, especially my dad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
A friend of mine asked if I could duplicate a coconut cake for him similar to one he was remembering that someone baked years ago.I selected this recipe and he loved it.The frosting recipe really sets it off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
Make this cake if you want something to eat at a sleep over party,everyone that likes coconut will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I made this for my father-in-law's birthday. Everyone really liked it. I used only 3/4 cup sugar in the frosting and the next time I may use a little less sugar in the cake. Also, I used 1/2 all purpose flour and 1/2 cake flour to make it more delicate. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Very rich and yummy. It definitely needs some salt--I added 1/2 tsp. to the flour mixture. I also made it with canned coconut milk for extra flavor. Coconut milk for the frosting too: add enough milk or cream to whatever is left from the can of coconut milk used in the cake to make one cup liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Loved this cake! It was so moist. Used 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk for batter. Everyone was fighting over who would take home the leftovers! The cake was also excellent on the second day. (Some dry out). It was better then my mothers which won a blue ribbon at the Delaware State Fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
The only problem I had with this recipe is that the cooking time stated was too long. I used a 13x9 inch pan and cooked for 45 minutes, but the cake was too browned; next time I will definitely keep a closer eye on it. The center of the cake was great, though, so I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Delicious! A nice change from the traditional method of pouring sweetened condensed milk over the cake. Make a beautiful and elegant cake. Full of flavor and very sturdy - almost like a pound cake. I added coconut to the frosting just for fun and it tastes and looks great. I made a double recipe for some friends' anniversary dinner party one week ago, and the little bit that's left it still wonderfully moist and delicious! A great complement to a seafood dinner. Will make many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I was really excited to try this cake for my husbands birthday, because him and his family really loves coconut, and with all the great reviews, I thought it was a winner. Well, I was so disappointed. After following the recipe exactly, I had a well, beautiful, but tasteless cake. I had bought a store mix cake for backup, and I'm glad I did. My mother-in-law made me let her taste it, and she agreed it was a nice presentation, and said it was moist, but no taste whatsoever. I recommend if you like coconut flavor, perhaps use more coconut, and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States