Coconut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
As per other reviews, I added a pinch of salt and instead of milk, I used coconut milk. The cake was delicious and very moist. I also used whipping cream instead of the frosting, as I had some whipping cream left from a cake I made few days ago. I added in the whipping cream some sugar, vanilla essence, coconut flakes and the rest of coconut milk. It also turned up very well, next time I'll try the frosting from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great cake! Since I was baking it as a gift, I made a little 'baby' cake for myself. This not really a cake for beginners unless you're just lucky ;-) I think that the the bakers who could not get the cake out of the pan simply did not let it bake long enough. The cake is done when it is golden brown. It should not be the color of coconut custard pie! Take the cake out ot the oven and let it sweat in the pan for ~6 minutes. THEN remove it carefully and sit it on a rack to cool. Good luck! Recipe variation: I did add a little baking soda (~1/2 tsp), only 2 tsp baking powder and I used dried buttermilk. I also used a 'right smart amount' of shorting and flour in my pans instead of spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yella
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
When this recipe prints out it lists the 6 tbs of flour for the icing, under the cake area. I think that some individuals who had trouble, may have used the six tbs rather than the 2.5 c. I was excited to try this after the rave reviews. My husband and I thought it was just okay. Not terribly moist or flavorful, but it was okay. I did use coconut milk in place of the milk in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This cake is very good after some changes. My first cake was stodgy and lacked salt. I made it again, this time using coconut milk (thanks to another reviewer's suggestion)in place of milk. I also added one half teasp. of salt to the flour mix. Then I used dessicated coconut in place of the soggy stuff. The result was a delicious coconut cake, very moist and delightfully gooey. Next time I will use margarine instead of butter as the butter made it a bit rich. Well work making again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Can't wait to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I made this for Christmas and it really tasted awful. I followed the directions perfectly. My family thought it was just okay. I did not like it at all. The icing came out runny and I had to beat it forever to get a little structure to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I was very disappointed in this cake recipe. The cake was dry and tasted more like a bread instead of a cake. And the white icing tasted more like sweet shortening. I have been searching for a good homemade coconut cake recipe, looks like I have to keep looking. It definitely wasn't this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
The "cake" overall lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThornsandRoses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Fantastic! A friend asked me to make a coconut cake for a birthday. This recipe sounded so good, I had to make it even though it was an untried recipe. The cake smelled so good. I had to sample a small piece before frosting. It reminds me of a pound cake without being cooked in a tube pan. The icing just happens to be a favorite recipe of mine. I will be making this cake for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Made this cake for my Mom on her birthday was very disappointed .Although it looked great, this was a very tastless cake, however it was moist. Because of this I will try again only I will add coconut milk and coconut extract instead of regular milk and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States