Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Leslie F.
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this cake for my boyfriend, who absolutely loves coconut cake, and it turned out AMAZING! I made one small change...I added a couple tablespoons of sour cream and about a half cup of cream of coconut to the cake batter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I love this cake. If you are a fan of coconut, this one is for you. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Best ever! This is the best coconut cakes my family has ever tasted! Usually my husband does not like coconut cakes because they are too sweet, but this one is perfect! I did put the sugar in my vitamix to refine it (as some have suggested), and it really does taste better frozen 3 days later! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I made this cake for my friend's birthday-she loves coconut!, and it was a huge hit!! Everyone loved it! I did follow the reviews, and halved the sugar, and put the sour cream/sugar/coconut mixture in the fridge for an hour to stiffen it a bit so it wouldn't run. I also did not over mix the whipped topping/sour cream mixture. I could not wait the 3 days-I saw this recipe the day before her birthday!, so it sat in fridge for 24 hours only, but it was so tasty! I'll be anxious to see how it is when you wait the full three days! This recipe is easy and delicious, thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I have made this as is.... and the second time around I changed the filling I added a pkg of instant coconut cream pudding mix in the sour cream now it taste like heaven sent it... got rave reviews from alot of people for this one so will continue making it with the changes. thanks for the recipe we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delicious! I did substitute confectionary sugar for granulated and tinted the frosting pink. The white coconut sprinkled over the pink made for a beautiful birthday cake for my stepdaughter. She loved the whole cake but especially the frosting! My husband and son in law kept telling me how good it was and what a good job I did. This was a real compliment because I make cakes all the time and most times get one comment on how good the cake was, not all the fuss I got for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I've made this several times and everyone loves it. It is easy and absolutely delicious. I also love that you can make it in advance. It's not an easy cake to take though on a long trip. I took it from Indiana to Illinois on Mother's Day and I was shocked it was still together from Friday to Sunday. Four creamy layers that could slide but it made it. Wouldn't want to try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bruce Isselhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The granulated sugar was gritting and the taste overall just was not good. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I loved this cake, very simple to make. I used sweetened coconut,and then reduced the sugar to around 1 cup. It was plenty sweet, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Delicious! I found it too sweet, however, and have since reduced the sugar by half to suit personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States