Coconut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Oh my goodness is this recipe YUMMY! I was making it for a tropical-themed party, and no sooner did I finish making it (and tasting it!) when I realized that it was gonna go WAY too fast, so I quickly whipped up a second batch. Some changes you might find helpful: 1) I increased the butter to 2 Tbsp., just to enhance the buttery taste; and 2) I substituted the 1 tsp. vanilla extract for 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. coconut extracts. Another experiment I tried: I cut back on the macadamia nuts a little bit, and added some chopped toasted coconut covered cashews for my second batch. The toasted coconut flavor permeated the entire brittle! Thanks for such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Yummy.....I used extra butter in the pan.....I mean you only live once :) ...and instead of the macadamias, I used cashews...how yummy! I am going to try this recipe again but use almonds next time. You never know...Quick and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
It took me four attempts to make this recipe work without burning it black in my microwave. The reason is that the recipe fails to mention that you need to take it out and STIR IT THOROUGHLY halfway through the cooking time after the nuts are added. Also, in my microwave, it can really only take 3-and-a-half minutes of cooking - NOT four - without getting overdone, and I have a small microwave, so be aware that every microwave is different and will require different timing and you may have to experiment the first time you make this. But once you get the timing right for your microwave oven, it really is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This stuff is wonderful! Easy to make and SOOO good. It is the latest addition to the 20+ Christmas baskets I give out every year. Other items I include: about 10 different kinds of cookies, homemade freezer jams, my famous lemon-cornmeal bread, candied pecans, and some kind of homemade ornament. Anyway, I made the brittle just as the recipe directs and put about 7 good sized pieces in each clear small gift bag and tied it with pretty ribbon. It was a big hit! Thanks...an update 12/23/10: This year I used coarsely chopped cashews and cut back from 4 minutes in the microwave to 3 after adding the nuts. Perfection. I made 4 batches and all turned out well. BTW, I use heavy duty foil and butter that. Makes for easy cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Tasted great! First I used a micowave safe plastic dish which the bottom melted right off, that was a bit of a mess in my microwave. Then I used a glass dish and everything was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Very simple, very quick, very tasty. This is similar to other microwave brittle recipes, but the macadamia nuts add a buttery flavor sometimes lacking in others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I tried to make this, following the directions, but 2 minutes into the cook time with the nuts in the mixture, I smelled that something was burning. I stopped it and pulled the mixture out. Smoke was billowing out of my microwave. I read all the reviews, ran to the store, and tried again. This is what I learned: do not use Dry Roasted Macadamias, use RAW macadamias; when you add the nuts, cook it a minute at a time, stirring and checking after each minute, mine only took two minutes for that part of the recipe. It was difficult to spread. I was thinking that next time I might stick the baking sheet with the coconut under the broiler for the last minute of the microwaving process. Hopefully the hot pan and hot coconut will allow me to spread the brittle mixture better. However, the bottom line is that everyone loved it and it was gone by the end of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Five stars for ease and taste! I have never made candy before and I am so glad this is the first thing that I tried. I used to big of a baking pan though and I had to scoop it together in the middle and flatten it out. By the way don't use anything plastic when preparing this recipe. I ruined a scraper when flattening the candy. I will make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Oh, just yummy! And easy. It made a small batch that didn't quite cover the bottom of an 8x8 inch pan -- but I wouldn't try to microwave any larger quantity at a time because of the danger of spilling. I recommend a heavy pyrex cup with a handle, and make sure you can grab it with a gloved hand BEFORE you heat it. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Wonderful! I'm going to make a second batch right now......no way this will last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States