Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I really loved this recipe, which I found after searching snacks with coconut milk as an ingredient. I made this for my book club. It was my first time ever making a bread pudding, and I think I did pretty well! I got the bread from the bakery sliced up into small pieces just for the recipe. Since they didn't have any day-old bread they recommended I stick the pieces in the oven at 350 for a short while. I did so with the fresh french bread in a 9x13 glass pan for 15 minutes and it dried the bread up to a great day-old consistency. Also omitted the fresh coconut and used more shredded coconut. Next time I am going to review the reviews (ha!) and add raisins, more flavor options, etc to give the dish some more interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I am obsessed with bread pudding and coconut so I was really excited to try this, but unfortunately for me it was just OK. It was a tad greasy and not very heavy on the coconut flavor. I may try this again with less coconut milk and maybe pineapple or banana added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was so good and so easy, a big hit! I did leave out the fresh coconut but it didn't seem to be missing anything. It makes enough for eight people easily. But four of us devoured it. Mmmm so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a good recipe, but for all of the expense, it is not as good as the Bread Pudding II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I recently had a piece of coconut bread pudding that was delicious! I was in charge of desert today, for New Years dinner. I wanted to recreate the bread pudding I had the other day. I followed this recipe except I replaced the loaf of French bread with Hawaiian Sweet bread. It was delicious, and I believe better than the other day. It could be, I didn't have to pay $4.25 for a single serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Mmmmm....Beautiful! Don't know why I never thought of coconut in bread pudding before, but this is very tasty. When I made this tonight I added some pineapple tidbits with their juice like another reviewer said. I think it's a little acidic, so next time I will drain the pineapple. I halved the sugar and the the sweetness was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Amazing. Try toasting the coconut flakes before adding, gives a nice crunch. I also used the zest of one lime instead of the spices and reduced the sugar to our liking. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
AWESOME! Just made this last night and the WHOLE family thought it was great. Thanks for sharing. I was able to buy a whole coconut from my local grocery store. My husband poked a few holes in the top, drained the "milk" inside, then just cracked it open. After it's been open I just used a butter knife to pry out the white "meat", and then shredded it. This is a keeper! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was very good. If you like coconut, you will like this. One of my girls is a big coconut fan but it must taste like real coconut not just flavored. Followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I switched up just a few things like instead of coconut essence, I put a bit of good vanilla essence. I also added more fresh shredded coconut than sweetened shredded coconut, oh a not white sugar just brown and a touch of confectioner's sugar with the toasted coconut on top. It was really delicious! Sweet but not overly and there was great texture too. I will make again. I can see this also going really good with some vanilla ice cream. easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States