Coconut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I obtained this recipe over 25 years ago from a neighbor in Utah...her version includes a glaze, that I think makes all the difference. Glaze: 1 cup of sugar 1/2 cup water 2 Tbsp. Butter 1 tsp. coconut flavoring For Glaze, combine sugar, water and butter; bring to a boil. Add coconut flavoring. Pour hot glaze over top of loaves while still they are still warm. Let sit in pans 4 hours before removing. Also the oven temp should be 325 degrees. This recipe does make 2 regular loaf pans(bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes) or 3 small loaf pans (bake 55 to 60 minutes) and a bundt pan will hold this recipe. We just love this bread toasted and buttered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This is a good recipe, however it makes TWO 9x5 loaf pans, not one. I have made it several times and shared the recipe with many people. It turns out very well by replacing the 1 c oil with 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c applesauce or by omitting the oil all together and using 1 c applesauce (unsweetened). It's a chewier texture, but very good if you're looking to cut some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
12/23/04: Very tasty but I am wondering if the oven temperature stated (375 degrees?) is a typo. I baked the loaves for the stated time and temperature and the middle of the loaves were very raw...ended up baking it for another half hour. Crust was burned but the center was salvagable. I will try this just one more time before admitting defeat.**UPDATE**I made this once more and was disappointed again. Tasty but other recipes are easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Thank you so much Susan, for posting this unusual and unusually easy recipe! I baked the batter into "muffin" form, versus a loaf, with a change in the baking time. Most muffin recipes that fit into my "Texas" pan, call for 2 cups of flour, so this kooky cook, made 2/3 of your recipe. They were delicious. I thought these muffins would rise high, so I used Pam sprayed "skirts" to rest on top of each muffin hole. By skirts, I mean old canned tuna or pineapple tins that I've removed both sides of the lids, and use just for muffins. Superb chewy, dense textured muffins, with a big cocoanut flavor. Keep on cooking and posting Susan! Best wishes, Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is absolutely divine! Easy to make and more delectable to eat. The coconut flavor is so perfect. The bread is like a pound cake. I will make this again and again. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Just made these for the first time. I made them in a mini-muffin pan for an upcoming family reunion Memorial Week-end. They turned out great (all 88 of them). I baked them at 350 for about 10 to 12 minutes. I plan to freeze them til the reunion and and then put a light coconut glaze on them. They were very easy to make and didn't take up alot of time. (If some of you didn't know, there is a product on the market called Cultured Buttermilk Blend put out by Saco, so you can make just the amount of buttermilk you need instead of having to buy a whole quart of fresh buttermilk) Thanks for the recipe Susan...I'm sure I'll be making these little gems often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UVASPY
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very moist - perfect with coffee. I used vanilla extract because there was no coconut extract, still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
The recipe definitely makes two, not one loaf. Also, I think that 375 is too high. I noticed the edges getting way too brown about half way through cooking and bumped the oven down to 350. Keeping the oven at 350 for the whole time would make for better bread, I think. My boyfriend is from Guatemala and keeps talking about coconut bread. It's excellent toasted with melted butter for breakfast. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This was my Grandmas Recipe that she got from some folks who visited the Islands about 50 years ago. This recipe is meant as a deasert loaf, and should never be bigger than the 3X3X6 loaf pans. It will make 3 1/2 of these. I have also found that if you use a quiche pan you can make miniture cupcakes of this I call coconut "poppers" since they can be popped in the mouth so easily. Same temp as bread just cook for 10-14 min. cheack with toothpick to see if done and your set. Her Hubby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. I followed the instructions exactly, except for adding a glaze to the top. It made 3 smaller loafs and I baked for 50-55 minutes. The glaze listed in one of the reviews is the perfect addition to it, just amazing. I love coconut and this didn't disappoint. My kids think I am a great chef now and asked me to make it again soon! For the glaze (if you don't want to search the other reviews): 1 cup of sugar 1/2 cup of water 2 tbsp of butter (I used salted) 1 tsp of coconut extract (or 2 if you really like coconut flavor) While the bread was warm, I poked holes all over it with a knife and then poured some of the glaze over it slowly so it would sink in a little. After it had cooled some, I used a kitchen brush to spread some more glaze on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States