Coconut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I've made this bread 3 times now! Every time is better than the previous! I did make several changes and followed some of the advice in the reviews. - I used 1/2C less sugar - I used 1/2C oil (extra virgin olive oil in fact) and 1/2 C apple sauce - I used egg beaters instead of whole eggs - I used coconut milk once and almond milk another - I added 1/4tsp freshly grated nutmeg - I also added 1/2c golden raisins I followed the advice by one of the raters to decrease the oven temp to 325F. Excellent advise. It was a hit every time! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This recipe yielded way more batter than could fit into my loaf pan, so I used the leftover batter to make muffins. After 22 mins., the muffins were perfectly cooked and were superbly moist and delicious; however, the bread was not nearly done after 45 mins. and required a lot longer to bake, hardening and nearly burning the outside. So four stars for a delicious recipe but flawed cooking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This recipe was really good.My hubby who generally does notlike baked goods said ihad outdone myself. I halved the recipe based on the other reviews and used low fat yogurt instead of buttermilk and subbed half cup of ww flour for white. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is such an easy and simply excellent recipe. It comes out more like a cake really, rather than a bread. It's something like what we Trini's call a sweet bread. I've made it a few times and it always receives a standing ovation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmbarasa
Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
first time experience. I ended up using pound cake container since the volume was quite large. I too see that the center isn't cooked at 50 minutes at 375.....that assumes of course I didn't make a fundamental error......when it called for white sugar I used granulated sugar. I hope this was right and recipe wasn't asking for powdered. Anyway, so far so good. After about 55 min I turned it down to 325 F as another review suggested. Was fine after another 30 minutes. Not burned looking either. Tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I obtained this recipe over 25 years ago from a neighbor in Utah...her version includes a glaze, that I think makes all the difference. Glaze: 1 cup of sugar 1/2 cup water 2 Tbsp. Butter 1 tsp. coconut flavoring For Glaze, combine sugar, water and butter; bring to a boil. Add coconut flavoring. Pour hot glaze over top of loaves while still they are still warm. Let sit in pans 4 hours before removing. Also the oven temp should be 325 degrees. This recipe does make 2 regular loaf pans(bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes) or 3 small loaf pans (bake 55 to 60 minutes) and a bundt pan will hold this recipe. We just love this bread toasted and buttered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
AMAZING!!!! I did substitute the buttermilk w/ coconut milk, which is found on the imported foods aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Mmm! Yummy! Very soft and fluffy. My mom said it was more like a cake than a muffin. Note: I doubled the baking soda, quadrupled (4x?) the baking powder, and halved the sugar. Replaced all purpose flour with cake flour. Added 1/2 cup chopped macadamias too. Also used half coconut and half vanilla extracts. Heck, I even throw in orange or lemon extracts at times! I sprinkled some sweetened shredded coconut on the tops before baking as well. (I baked these as muffins, at 400F for approx... 20mins?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UVASPY
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very moist - perfect with coffee. I used vanilla extract because there was no coconut extract, still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Just made these for the first time. I made them in a mini-muffin pan for an upcoming family reunion Memorial Week-end. They turned out great (all 88 of them). I baked them at 350 for about 10 to 12 minutes. I plan to freeze them til the reunion and and then put a light coconut glaze on them. They were very easy to make and didn't take up alot of time. (If some of you didn't know, there is a product on the market called Cultured Buttermilk Blend put out by Saco, so you can make just the amount of buttermilk you need instead of having to buy a whole quart of fresh buttermilk) Thanks for the recipe Susan...I'm sure I'll be making these little gems often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States