Coconut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe is almost identical to one on the Taste of Home website. The only difference is in the amt. of baking powder This one calls for 1/2 tsp. baking powder. On the Taste of Home it is 1 tsp baking powder. AlsoI think the temp is too high. It should be 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made this following the recipe and using only ONE loaf pan. I should have used two. It took a lot longer to bake and the bottom got burnt. I was making this for a bake sale, now I will have to bake something else. The cake does have good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Baked this recipe twice with the same results. I finally figured out that with an hour bake time & oven temperature at 350 degrees, the bread was still underbaked. I also think there was too much flour and eggs. I have baked loaf breads previously & the instructions may be a factor as I have looked at other recipes which did not call for the large amounts of flour and eggs. I have used butter in my recipes instead of shortening & oil & never encountered such a disaster. Perhaps the person who put this recipe on the internet should take another look and make adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as stated but subed half the sugar for splenda. I also added frozen blueberries. Very good and the boyfriend thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is absolutly delicious!! People at work have been requesting for me to make more...I like to add more coconut to the recipe..love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Hi I modified this recipe , reduced the oil to 2 oz. from 8 , added 1 tsp cinnamon. Used quick bread method. Mixed all wet add blended dry ingridients , do not over mix. Much better, not so oily,. makes two laoves . I use 4 x 10 52 minutes in convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. I followed the instructions exactly, except for adding a glaze to the top. It made 3 smaller loafs and I baked for 50-55 minutes. The glaze listed in one of the reviews is the perfect addition to it, just amazing. I love coconut and this didn't disappoint. My kids think I am a great chef now and asked me to make it again soon! For the glaze (if you don't want to search the other reviews): 1 cup of sugar 1/2 cup of water 2 tbsp of butter (I used salted) 1 tsp of coconut extract (or 2 if you really like coconut flavor) While the bread was warm, I poked holes all over it with a knife and then poured some of the glaze over it slowly so it would sink in a little. After it had cooled some, I used a kitchen brush to spread some more glaze on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I've made this bread 3 times now! Every time is better than the previous! I did make several changes and followed some of the advice in the reviews. - I used 1/2C less sugar - I used 1/2C oil (extra virgin olive oil in fact) and 1/2 C apple sauce - I used egg beaters instead of whole eggs - I used coconut milk once and almond milk another - I added 1/4tsp freshly grated nutmeg - I also added 1/2c golden raisins I followed the advice by one of the raters to decrease the oven temp to 325F. Excellent advise. It was a hit every time! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This recipe yielded way more batter than could fit into my loaf pan, so I used the leftover batter to make muffins. After 22 mins., the muffins were perfectly cooked and were superbly moist and delicious; however, the bread was not nearly done after 45 mins. and required a lot longer to bake, hardening and nearly burning the outside. So four stars for a delicious recipe but flawed cooking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This recipe was really good.My hubby who generally does notlike baked goods said ihad outdone myself. I halved the recipe based on the other reviews and used low fat yogurt instead of buttermilk and subbed half cup of ww flour for white. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States