Coconut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is absolutely divine! Easy to make and more delectable to eat. The coconut flavor is so perfect. The bread is like a pound cake. I will make this again and again. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Thank you so much Susan, for posting this unusual and unusually easy recipe! I baked the batter into "muffin" form, versus a loaf, with a change in the baking time. Most muffin recipes that fit into my "Texas" pan, call for 2 cups of flour, so this kooky cook, made 2/3 of your recipe. They were delicious. I thought these muffins would rise high, so I used Pam sprayed "skirts" to rest on top of each muffin hole. By skirts, I mean old canned tuna or pineapple tins that I've removed both sides of the lids, and use just for muffins. Superb chewy, dense textured muffins, with a big cocoanut flavor. Keep on cooking and posting Susan! Best wishes, Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I thought the bread was way too sweet, need to cut down on the sugar. This one stated it makes one 9x5 loaf, I am not an experienced cook so I follow recipes exactly, what I ended out with was a huge mess and a big disappointment. I realize now there was too much batter but a head's up on that would have been nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elusivek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This was my Grandmas Recipe that she got from some folks who visited the Islands about 50 years ago. This recipe is meant as a deasert loaf, and should never be bigger than the 3X3X6 loaf pans. It will make 3 1/2 of these. I have also found that if you use a quiche pan you can make miniture cupcakes of this I call coconut "poppers" since they can be popped in the mouth so easily. Same temp as bread just cook for 10-14 min. cheack with toothpick to see if done and your set. Her Hubby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This bread was okay, but not great. Not a lot of coconut flavor. It made six 3 x 6 pans. I sprinkled coconut on the the top of the batter in some of the pans prior to baking. Those were a little better. Might make a good base for strawberry shortcake. It does get better after sitting a couple of days. Probably won't make again, unless I make some changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This is a good recipe, however it makes TWO 9x5 loaf pans, not one. I have made it several times and shared the recipe with many people. It turns out very well by replacing the 1 c oil with 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c applesauce or by omitting the oil all together and using 1 c applesauce (unsweetened). It's a chewier texture, but very good if you're looking to cut some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This was just OK. I was thinking it would be more like a dessert bread/cake. It was a little bland, but good enough for a slice for breakfast with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
12/23/04: Very tasty but I am wondering if the oven temperature stated (375 degrees?) is a typo. I baked the loaves for the stated time and temperature and the middle of the loaves were very raw...ended up baking it for another half hour. Crust was burned but the center was salvagable. I will try this just one more time before admitting defeat.**UPDATE**I made this once more and was disappointed again. Tasty but other recipes are easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
The recipe definitely makes two, not one loaf. Also, I think that 375 is too high. I noticed the edges getting way too brown about half way through cooking and bumped the oven down to 350. Keeping the oven at 350 for the whole time would make for better bread, I think. My boyfriend is from Guatemala and keeps talking about coconut bread. It's excellent toasted with melted butter for breakfast. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I have been making this recipe for 5 years now. A friend gave me a copy of it and I just made it last night. I bake mine at 325 for 1 hour to create 2 loaves. Or, I make small loaves and bake for 50 minutes rotating the pans once while cooking. I have a 4 loaf pan and this recipe fills it nicely with just a bit of batter left-over. I also sprinkle mine with a bit of coconut before baking to get the coconut look to it. I served it at church this morning and many people thought it was lemon or pound cake. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States