Coconut Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My Mother and I made these for Christmas and they were so good. Tips: Put powdered sugar on your hands when rolling balls, this keeps them from being so sticky. After inserting toothpicks put balls in freezer for about 30 minutes before dipping, if balls begin to fall off put in freezer for a few more minutes. Remove toothpicks immediately after dipping before chocolate dries this keeps you from having holes. I use a combination of almond bark and fondue chocolate, the combination is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Punky'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oologah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have a similar recipe from my grandma. Making the bon bons really isn't as difficult as other reviewers make it out to be. Follow reviewer Jeanette's advice for amounts. The recipe as written doesn't have enough coconut or sweetened condensed milk. I put all ingredients in my kitchen aid and mixed it up. You need the mixture to be a paste that can be rolled into a ball, much like the mixture for peanut butter balls. If it looks too gooey add more coconut, don't add more powdered sugar. I refrigerated the mixture overnight and had no trouble rolling into balls. I put the balls on a waxed paper lined cookie sheet and refrigeratd for about an hour before dipping in chocolate. After dipping in chocolate I put them back in the refrigerator to set. These are really easy to make and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These are delicious treats! I added almonds (chopped fine), and to aleviate the stickiness, try scooping the "batter" out w/a small cookie scoop (they work like an ice cream scoop)...works great! Also...wrap the cocount ball around a whole almond...tastes just like an Almond Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
These were delicious. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it was a little too sweet for us. (maybe personal taste). I will definitely make them again with a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCravings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
these were good mine were a little softer than i like. hard to dip in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Photo by Jayashiangel
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great...Tips..Mix the coconut part the place in bowl into freezer for 1+ hours. The create small balls place on wax paper then back into freeze for 30+min to firm again. Then roll balls in melted chocolate back onto cookie sheet w/ wax paper to set Keep in freezer /fridge as the melt quickly at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I took these to a Christmas party. Everyone loved them!! I used extra sweetened condensed milk because the coconut seemed to dry. I also froze the balls for one hour before dipping them in chocolate. They taste really great if you freeze them after you put the chocolate on and eat them right out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love this recipe! I read the reviews first making it. I made the coconut mixture (added a little bit more coconut) and refrigerated over night then rolled them into balls the next day. Put them back into the frig until the chocolate was ready. I had no problems at all and each one looked great. This was a great hit with everyone. I will definitely make it over and over. This is a keeper. Thank you Tamme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I love this recipe, but it takes along time to roll into balls, becasue they are so sticky. I found the easiest way to solve the problem, I used a pair of latex gloves, what a difference. If they get sticky, just dip into a little powdered sugar. This will cut your roll time into minutes, instead of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Sure, it's sticky to roll into balls, but powdered sugar on your hands help that. I froze the balls for 2+ hours and had no problem dipping in chocolate. These are delicious, rich, and so easy. This recipe does make quite a few and I recommend making small sized balls, as it is so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States