Coconut Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
These are good but mine came out a bit too sweet. It doesn't say if you should use sweetened or unsweetened coconut. I used sweetened but I would suggest to either reduce the amount of sugar or use unsweetened cocount. A tip for dipping - use a fork - they can sit easily on top of it but the chocolate can flow through the gaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tpoirier
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Way too sweet!!! Even my kids said they were too sweet. Maybe if you use less sugar or something other than sweetened condensed milk they would be better? Easy to make and they look beautiful when finished. It's too bad nobody will eat them. Wouldn't make these again :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made these and after reading all the reviews, picking the bit tips for rolling the balls, freezing and the coating in chocolate, what a dream!!!! The family had some at room temperature, but I put the rest in a box in the freezer! They were rock hard, but they still didn't last long. The family loved them......looks like I'm going to have to make some more next weekend. My advice is give it a try, and if the family really don't like them, I bet the neighbours will!!!!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great recipe! I made these for Mardi Gras for my French class since I needed a gluten-free treat and these are just perfect! Incredibly sweet though- definitely needed a drink to get them down! Refrigerating the mix before trying to shape it into little balls helps a lot and keeps down on the mess. I froze mine for storage and they're great chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is a little tip for dipping. I freeze the balls before dipping, on cookie sheets lined with wax paper. As I dip them, I place them back onto the wax paper and cookie sheet. This makes it easy to pull them off and they cool off faster too. I just use bacon tongs to lightly hold the balls as I coat them in chocolate. Or, drop them in and fish out. I don't add shortning to the chocolate either. I also add chopped nuts to half my mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I press mine into a cake pan and freeze. Then I cut into squares and dip while frozen. Then place on waxed paper. Half of them I sprinkle with coconut the other half I press an almond into. Do it quickly because the chocolate firms quickly. The squareness distinguishes them from my other round dipped candies also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
We never used condensed sweet milk, just regular. I think it helps lower the sweetness factor. We made these every winter along with peanut butter balls. I remember my mom also used bittersweet or unsweetened chocolate(with a little wax mixed in). Don't use anything but real butter in the candies or don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Reminds me a lot of the Martha Washington candy my Great-Grandmother and I used to make when I was young. About the only difference is that these don't have pecans and that did. Also, the recipe called for wax to mix with the chocolate for dipping. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great! I would add a little more condensed milk and coconut. Just to make it a little more chewy. Also I prefer it with milk chocolate just like the candy bars! So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Roll them small for just a single bite, and top with festive sprinkles. I froze the coconut balls for about an hour before dipping and they came out beautifully. I also added some dark chocolate to the semisweet, to cut some of the sweetness of the filling. I followed many reviewers suggestions and cut the amount of powdered sugar and doubled the coconut. However, this combination made waaaay too much for my needs, and I only ended up using half of the coconut filling mixture. Next time I will halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States