Coconut Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I thought I was finished my Christmas baking, but this recipe caught my eye. And I'm glad it did!! This bread is AMAAAAAAAAAZING!!!!!!! I subbed 1/2c. brown sugar for part of the white sugar and 3/4c. whole wheat with AP flour. Upped the amounts of coconut and white chocolate to 1-1/2 c. each and increased the banana to about 3/4c. more. Got 5 mini loaves and had to freeze four of them so I wouldn't be tempted. Can't wait to share this one with my friends and family - thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Delicious, even without the rum extract, pecans, and white chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I cut this recipe back to 16 servings. I made two small changes. I used vegetable oil instead of butter and four ounces white chocolate chips instead of white baking chocolate only because that was all I had on hand. I made muffins out of this recipe, I was able to get 12 smallish muffins out of one batch. I baked them for exactly 20 minutes. The combination of ingredients is very nice--I loved the banana with the rum, white chocolate, coconut and pecans. I would definitely make this again but I would increase the rum extract to a full teaspoon and the coconut and pecans to 3/4 of a cup, but really, that's only because we like more "stuff" in our muffins. Five stars for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I substituted applesauce for the oil. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Delish. I reduced the sugar by 1/2 c. And used regular chocolate (unsweetened squares). And creme de cacao, since i didnt have rum. SO GOOD. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made this last night because I had bananas turning black, and it took almost all five of them for this recipe. I had all the other ingredients on hand except white baking chocolate (in hindsight I should have bought the white chocolate chips to speed the preparation process rather than trying to chop the squares). It's FANTASTIC. My boyfriend keeps referring to it as "banana cake" because of its rich flavor, and everyone at the office is loving it today. Still has a strong banana flavor (the coconut adds more texture than flavor) and I can't really taste the white chocolate personally. Easy to put together though, and makes two good-sized loaves. I'll keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
really good, I will keep this in my round to use up old bananas. I didnt use the white chocolate, it was good with out it, Im sure its even better with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Wow is this so good! I made 8 mini loaves and gave them as a "lil something extra" gifts for Mother's Day. Delicious, moist and very flavorful...the only thing that I changed was to use coconut extract in place of the rum extract. This is a great banana bread recipe...will most definately be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Gorgeous bread, can't believe it has so few reviews. The loaf was light and moist, I really enjoyed the coconut and white chocolate. Just that little bit more different than traditional Banana Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. My husband loved it. I added almonds to mine. It was so moist and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveroflabs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States