Coconut-Avocado Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I halved the recipe, using 1 avocado, coconut milk instead of milk, sweetened pineapple juice instead of the coconut cream, only 1/8 cup of sugar, added the lemon juice, threw in about a quarter cup of shredded coconut (I LOVE coconut!) and blended it. I added a handful of chopped dates once it was done and it turned out delicious! I tried a spoonful of it right afterwards and it was so delicious that it never made it to the freezer! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XiolaJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Good lord! This was amazing. My favorite new ice cream I will make again and again. I will try withe the cookies. Yesterday was the first time I ever even tried Avocados. I made a salsa which kinda flopped, but this was heavenly. I even used splenda in place of sugar and it came out fine. I used coconut milk and half and half. so fresh. Due to the fat content I didn't even have to pull out my Cusinart ice cream maker. It was practically ready fresh out of my Ninja blender. I will try the coconut or nuts with this next time. This would be great for Atkins diet. Not sure about the coconut milk for that one but you could sub with whipped cream. Dr Atkins would approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by screamingwallflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was delicious! My kids didn't get into it, but everyone else in the house did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ptaok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
After some experimenting I did like the end resulting ice cream. The recipe calls for coconut cream. COCONUT CREAM is not a sweet product and needs much more sugar than is called for in recipe. Perhaps CREAM OF COCONUT should have been listed in the recipe as this would have provided the needed sweetness that I added with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Needed it dairy free, so replaced milk with Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk. This was FABULOUS! You must like coconut, because that is the dominant flavour. But seriously, some of the best stuff i've ever tasted. NOTE that it does need a few minutes out of the freezer to soften slightly. And wait for soft, ripe avocados, or I can see this tasting "green". YUM! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I don't often review recipes but this one was truly bad. The whole family took a bite or two, agreed it was inedible. This is my favorite ice cream flavor at a local creamery so I had high hopes for an at-home version. I think it was primarily the coconut cream that made it bad. It was sickeningly sweet and synthetic tasting. I may be brave enough to try it again and use coconut milk instead as it has a more natural taste. Also would use lime juice instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Coming from the 'I didn't know we had an ice cream maker when I made this until after I made it' perspective, so I mashed it into slush every 2-3 hours: SOOOO not worth the extra effort. I felt like I was back in the olden days mashing the ice cream to feed my starving family of 7. Taste-wise: VERY delicious (hence the 5 stars)! I'm sure if I made it in the ice cream maker it would have been wonderful. My mom didn't care for it. It was like eating a snowball. Next time I'll put in the ice cream maker :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I haven't actually made this yet but it sounds wonderful, especially for my lactose-intolerant daughter-in-law. I grew up near Houston, TX in the early 1940's where avocados were not a staple ingredient in any grocery store but my mom did get them from a fruit peddler. Whenever they were available, she always made us some avocado ice cream, using our farm-raised fresh cream. Yummmm! Can't wait to try this with coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I've made this three times now. The first two times were fantastic. The third time was a bust. It had a strong avocado plant taste. That said, taste your avocado before hand. If it has a strong flavor, it probably won't be good for this recipe. However, I did find that 1/2 tsp. almond extract had a strong enough flavor to overcome the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States