Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
We liked this pretty well. We doubled the recipe for a big gathering. We made some slight changes based on the package sizes from our local grocery. We used 30 oz. mandarin oranges, 20 oz. crushed pineapple, 32 oz. whipped topping, 1 cup red grapes halved, 2 cups coconut shredded further in the food processer, 20 oz maraschino cherries. Use a very very big bowl if you doubled the recipe like I did. Reserve your juices and add some back before serving if you need it (I didn't).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watkinsfamilyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I used to make this every year for family holiday dinners, except I added maraschino cherries and omitted the milk. It was really delicious, and everyone enjoyed it. The maraschino cherries gave it a pretty pale pink color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wewoka, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Ok, so I have to admit I just used this recipe as a jumping off point.. I have never went strictly by it.. although the outcome is great! I use it as a guideline. I remember something like this my grandmother made every Christmas, so this recipe brought back so many wonderful memories.. but enough said, this is the changes I made. I added about 1 cup of coconut (what I had on hand). I use 2 cans of mandarin oranges, I omit the cherries. I also use the fruit flavored mini marshmallows. I add 1/2 cup sour cream for a little tang. I also add small box of pistachio pudding to my extra creamy cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapmanville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe but it was too much coconut for my taste. I would cut back to 1 cup of coconut or add an extra can of Mandarin orange slices and an extra can of Pineapple tidbits or chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was a huge hit for our family. I did 1/2 cool whip, 1/2 sour cream, and about 1/2 cup of whipping cream instead of milk. I drained the fruit really well, and it didn't get watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I love this recipe, too! It's been in our family for decades. I substitue the whipped cream and milk for one pint of sour cream. I also add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to give it that extra crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Light and airy, sweet and delicious. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I changed up the fruit to my liking but I would omit or half the amount of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I loved this!! I did add 1/2 box of the pistachio pudding mix but the rest I kept same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty Jackson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States