Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
We've made them twice this year. Tip...when rolling balls to keep the dough from sticking. Dip hands in water and shake excess off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I just made these and they were so stick to try and roll. I ground up a few more cookies and that helped a bit. For me there was to much rum. Hubby's drink of choice is rum and he gave them a 'just ok". I guess we'll see in a couple days how they taste. My main concern is there is nothing in them that will stiffen up, so sitting out on a plate will often them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have treasured my grandmothers Rum Ball recipe for years thinking it was a family treasure only to come on this site and see the exact same recipe. What a wonderful surprise. The only difference was that her recipe stipulated that after mixing the ingredients that it is to be refrigerated over night before rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made these and they were just grand! I did it alittle different by adding a maraschino cherry in the middle,then dipping the ball into melted chocolate. It gives it a different taste to your holiday! And I also cut the rum down to 1/4 cup and added 2 teaspoons of cherry extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
These are totally fantastic!!! And sooooo easy to make! (I used to make my rum balls out of day-old brownies but if I didn't serve them from the freezer right away, they turned into a gooey mess!). I always have rum balls on hand to serve as dessert after a BBQ or cocktail party. It doesn't have to be just rum; add any kind of liquor that you like! Also, a good tip is to add all the dry ingredients in a food processor and grind them all together. This recipe is my new favorite!!! PS: makes about 4 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I started making these for the holidays a few years ago and they are always a hit especially with my stepdad. The first year I made exactly as shown but since them have made variations - this past year I made two batches - one with Frangelico and hazelnuts and the other with rasperry extract and vanilla rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandaclari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Easy to make and used Captain Morgans Black. No doubt the longer the cure the better. Not overpowering at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Vassar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I love these Rum Balls, my ex made them every Christmas. If you can't handle the "overwhelming" rum (I prefer Captain Morgan Rum) flavor, start with little sips from a shot glass, and work up to the Rum Balls. NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert K. Tompsett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These taste very strong of alcohol so if that is what you are going for it is perfect. I ended up making a new batch using half the rum called for as these were going on holiday cookie trays.I used raspberry rum which I had on hand. I also used used the food processor to finely crush the cookies and nuts (almonds). The new batch was delicious and perfect for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States