Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I get such RAVE reviews when I make these. The only changes I make is that I use Malibu Rum instead of regular rum...it's what I have on hand and personally I prefer it because the flavor is much more mild and I'm not a big rum fan. I definately feel this is a recipe that you should ALWAYS DOUBLE as they will disappear quickly. And they really do get better after a few days...they just don't normally last that long! haha I wouldn't suggest trying to crush the ingredients with anything other than a food processor. It just gives you a totally different type of cookie. I most like these when the cookies and nuts are ground to an almost powder consistancy. That way you taste the 'cookie' not the 'ingredients' if that makes sense to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
These were the hit of every party I took them to! - so delicious! Only thing I do different is toss them in granulated sugar rather than confection - the sparkles look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
These are awesome!! I made them last year and they were a hit! I use Bacardi Vanilla flavored rum instead of plain rum and it gives it a little something extra, and this year I will triple the recipe, due to the high demand!! I also throw the nuts and cookies in the food processor to make sure they are ground up finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These rum balls are awesome. I have tried many recipes that are often mucky and a pain to make. These are perfect. I used a food processor then stirred in the cornstarch and rum. As we like lots of flavour, I used dark rum and dissolved 1 tsp. of instant coffee in it first. In Canada nilla vanilla wafers come in a box slightly under 12 oz. and so I didn't use quite the full amount of rum...just added it until I got a cohesive dough. Then rolled the balls in chocolate sprinkles which is our tradition. Thank you so much. My family are going to love you this Christmas. I know I will be making them each year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
If I had to sum up this recipe in one word, it would have to be yumyumyummy!! These cookies are not only beautiful, but they taste wonderful. Unlike many holiday confections, the longer they sit, the better they taste! I highly recommend using coconut-flavored rum in this recipe. My boyfriend and I tried two batches--spiced and coconut, and coconut just happens to work and taste better. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This is a winner! Thank you Leslie! Have made several times for various get togethers and have received raves each time! Use of a blender to powder both the wafers and the nuts (in several small batches) makes this quick to prepare too. Two tips: 1) after blending mixture with spoon, use hands to further blend until dough is evenly moist; 2) use of small metal 1" meatball-shaping tongs produces uniform, perfectly rounded rum balls. Also, the 2-3 days in an airtight container is essential for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I took these to a cookie exchange party and won most outstanding. I used almonds for the nuts and ground them in a coffee grinder until very fine. Wonderful cookie with no baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These have become a regular treat for our family at Christmas. I use a food processor for the wafer cookies and nuts to make a finer mixture as recommended by another reviewer, and it works great - so much easier to roll into the balls! I also use Parrot Bay rum for a nice coconut flavor. Thanks for a great recipe! Updated review!!! I ran out of rum making this recipe in 2008 so I put in half light rum and half Rumplemintz and really liked the chocolate/mint flavor - a good variation from the coconut that I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I had 80 proof rum so I cut it with water for a 60% rum 40% water. I also made a batch with 3/8c coconut rum & 1/8c reg. rum. Let them "age" in the fridge for a week and they were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Great with Light Rum, and for a twist, replace the rum with Starbucks Coffee Liqueur. Makes them a little sweeter and stickier, but gives a nice coffee/mocha flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States