Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These did not wow me. I followed suggestions and finely ground the wafers and nuts (I used hazelnuts) in the food processor. I didn't care for the resulting texture of the cookie. I may try again using coarser pieces of nuts/wafers so the end product has more "bite". The rum flavor seemed just right after about 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made these for my holiday gift baskets, and have had requests from everyone to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I have always been looking for this recipe. I made them years ago; lost the recipe but the memories lingered on. I was so glad to get the idea of using my food processor as many used. Thank you so much for a delicious cookie. Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These rum balls are awesome. I have tried many recipes that are often mucky and a pain to make. These are perfect. I used a food processor then stirred in the cornstarch and rum. As we like lots of flavour, I used dark rum and dissolved 1 tsp. of instant coffee in it first. In Canada nilla vanilla wafers come in a box slightly under 12 oz. and so I didn't use quite the full amount of rum...just added it until I got a cohesive dough. Then rolled the balls in chocolate sprinkles which is our tradition. Thank you so much. My family are going to love you this Christmas. I know I will be making them each year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
My mom REALLY loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
These were very yummy & so easy to make. The longer you leave them the better they taste. It's hard to leave them though cause they taste so good to start with!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Outsanding... However, my grocery store didn't sell the wafers in 12oz boxes so it was fun for the kid to figure out how many wafers it takes to make 12oz. The rum balls were the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
These are an old family fave, unfortunately the recipe was lost and I've been trying many to recipes replace it. I thought these came out perfect, this recipe tasted just like my great grandma's used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I followed exactly how it is made and didn't care for it at all. Taste alright at the beginning, but what I didn't like was the after taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Excellent! They were a big hit at my work. I work at a restaurant and the cooks and staff loved them. I used Cabana Bay Coconut Pinapple rum. They were so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States