Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These are sooo good. I have to slap myself to make me stop eating them. I used Barcardi Vanila Rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I followed the recipe to a "T" and found the rum flavor to be overwhelmingly strong and the texture of the cookie extremely dry. I have made rum balls in the past that were much better. I remembered that the recipe then had called for 1/2 c. oil and much less rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These are so shockingly good it is unreal! I would give 6 stars if I could. They truly are better after a few days. The texture solidifies a bit more and the flavors all combine into this wonderful mix, rather than any one flavor being dominant (the way the rum is at first). A tip - the texture is really best if you can mix with your hands, but it will get your hands a total mess because the cookie mix is very, very sticky at first. It is best if you have another person to do the rolling in the powdered sugar or it gets to be a real mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My all-time favorite rum-ball recipe. If we want a less strong taste, we half the rum, but usually we switch out the light rum, for dark. These are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
SO EASY! SO DELICIOUS! This is a must make for any holiday season! They won't be around for long. I actually used dark rum and had to store them out in the garage so I wouldn't eat them all myself. I am making these for a cookie swap and need 6 dozen. One recipe goes a long way if you aren't eating them all while you are making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Perfect for the non-baker. Requests are coming in from family who recieved these last year at Christmastime,so I guess they are a big hit. Only change was the substitution of Malibu Rum as previously suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSY1350

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These did not wow me. I followed suggestions and finely ground the wafers and nuts (I used hazelnuts) in the food processor. I didn't care for the resulting texture of the cookie. I may try again using coarser pieces of nuts/wafers so the end product has more "bite". The rum flavor seemed just right after about 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made these for my holiday gift baskets, and have had requests from everyone to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I have always been looking for this recipe. I made them years ago; lost the recipe but the memories lingered on. I was so glad to get the idea of using my food processor as many used. Thank you so much for a delicious cookie. Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie Theus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These rum balls are awesome. I have tried many recipes that are often mucky and a pain to make. These are perfect. I used a food processor then stirred in the cornstarch and rum. As we like lots of flavour, I used dark rum and dissolved 1 tsp. of instant coffee in it first. In Canada nilla vanilla wafers come in a box slightly under 12 oz. and so I didn't use quite the full amount of rum...just added it until I got a cohesive dough. Then rolled the balls in chocolate sprinkles which is our tradition. Thank you so much. My family are going to love you this Christmas. I know I will be making them each year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States