Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I liked that these were super easy to make, but that's all I liked about them. I made the recipe just as it states, and I thought they were awful - too much rum flavor and not enough flavor otherwise. No one in my family would eat them. A friend came over and said she'd eat them, so I gave her the whole batch. Too bad! Luckily I did not make these for our cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
GOOD. I used sandies (pecan shortbread) and used an extra ounce or two, almost the whole package. They really are much better after a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
The rum was strong, but it didn't bother me as much as the extremely dry texture. I made these and no one in my house would touch them. When I asked why, everyone said they were too dry. I just feel like these are missing some kind of oil/fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I've made this as a Christmas treat for a couple of years now. You can use other syrups as an alternative to corn syrup. For a little "Canadian" flavour, I really like using maple syrup. You can also roll the balls in hot chocolate powder instead of icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Easy and delicious. I didn't have corn syrup so used agave nectar instead, and it worked well. I used a bit less than 3 tablespoons. I rolled some of the rum balls in chocolate powder and some in confectioners sugar, and they looked nice on the plate together. I will make these every time I can justify it. They are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Perfection! I found the reviewer's comments helpful - throw wafers and some of the nuts into blender on low speed to pulverize quickly, chill at least three days for flavor/firmness, and DOUBLE the recipe - they won't last long! I had spiced rum and used 3/4 c rum + 1/4 c water (for the doubled recipe) because it wasn't "light" rum like the recipe called for, but I think I'll try 1 c full strength next time. I used walnuts and reserved half of the amount to chop to give the balls a little texture. This recipe is now in my permanent collection. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton Bays, New York, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Well I just finished making a triple batch. I don't know why people are concerned with the dough being too sticky or too dry. It was perfect! I did use my hands to mix it thoughly. I rolled 1/3 in coconut, 1/3 in cocoa, and the last 1/3 in confectionary sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just like mom used to make! Only 312 g box of nilla wafers is only 11 oz. Make adjustments accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blind River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Fun to make, I have made these before but not with the chocoalte kick, I like it...a little shot of rum while your making them helps the whole preocss go smoother....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Z.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I put them out for company and they were gone almost immediately. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States