Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Perfection! I found the reviewer's comments helpful - throw wafers and some of the nuts into blender on low speed to pulverize quickly, chill at least three days for flavor/firmness, and DOUBLE the recipe - they won't last long! I had spiced rum and used 3/4 c rum + 1/4 c water (for the doubled recipe) because it wasn't "light" rum like the recipe called for, but I think I'll try 1 c full strength next time. I used walnuts and reserved half of the amount to chop to give the balls a little texture. This recipe is now in my permanent collection. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton Bays, New York, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Well I just finished making a triple batch. I don't know why people are concerned with the dough being too sticky or too dry. It was perfect! I did use my hands to mix it thoughly. I rolled 1/3 in coconut, 1/3 in cocoa, and the last 1/3 in confectionary sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just like mom used to make! Only 312 g box of nilla wafers is only 11 oz. Make adjustments accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blind River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Fun to make, I have made these before but not with the chocoalte kick, I like it...a little shot of rum while your making them helps the whole preocss go smoother....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Z.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I put them out for company and they were gone almost immediately. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Best with coconut rum, not kalua
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Must Bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Everyone in my family likes rum balls and I usually make several batches around the holidays. This year I wanted to make a new flavor so I tried these. They were a very nice addition to my regular ones. We liked these but they were a little drier than I would have liked. That may have been because I used Bailey's Mint Creme for the liquor and it's a lot thicker than normal rum. They had a great flavor though and I'll make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELA96

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These were very sweet and rich, multiple people asked for the recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I ACCIDENTALLY USED VANILLA "SUGAR WAFER COOKIES" (SANDWICH COOKIES THAT COME IN VANILLA, STRAWBERRY & CHOCOLATE I KNOW KEEBLER MAKES THEM) NOT THE ROUND ONES THEY ARE LONG & SKINNY. THEY CAME OUT SOOOO GOOOD I WILL NEVER CHANGE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These were yummy. I blended the nuts and cookies in my blender to make it easier to mix. Next time I would reduce the rum, but these were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States