Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
these are very good, I roll them in regualar white sugar and use my melon baller to make the shapes uniform and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I liked that these were super easy to make, but that's all I liked about them. I made the recipe just as it states, and I thought they were awful - too much rum flavor and not enough flavor otherwise. No one in my family would eat them. A friend came over and said she'd eat them, so I gave her the whole batch. Too bad! Luckily I did not make these for our cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
GOOD. I used sandies (pecan shortbread) and used an extra ounce or two, almost the whole package. They really are much better after a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
The rum was strong, but it didn't bother me as much as the extremely dry texture. I made these and no one in my house would touch them. When I asked why, everyone said they were too dry. I just feel like these are missing some kind of oil/fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I've made this as a Christmas treat for a couple of years now. You can use other syrups as an alternative to corn syrup. For a little "Canadian" flavour, I really like using maple syrup. You can also roll the balls in hot chocolate powder instead of icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Easy and delicious. I didn't have corn syrup so used agave nectar instead, and it worked well. I used a bit less than 3 tablespoons. I rolled some of the rum balls in chocolate powder and some in confectioners sugar, and they looked nice on the plate together. I will make these every time I can justify it. They are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Perfection! I found the reviewer's comments helpful - throw wafers and some of the nuts into blender on low speed to pulverize quickly, chill at least three days for flavor/firmness, and DOUBLE the recipe - they won't last long! I had spiced rum and used 3/4 c rum + 1/4 c water (for the doubled recipe) because it wasn't "light" rum like the recipe called for, but I think I'll try 1 c full strength next time. I used walnuts and reserved half of the amount to chop to give the balls a little texture. This recipe is now in my permanent collection. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton Bays, New York, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Well I just finished making a triple batch. I don't know why people are concerned with the dough being too sticky or too dry. It was perfect! I did use my hands to mix it thoughly. I rolled 1/3 in coconut, 1/3 in cocoa, and the last 1/3 in confectionary sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just like mom used to make! Only 312 g box of nilla wafers is only 11 oz. Make adjustments accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blind River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Fun to make, I have made these before but not with the chocoalte kick, I like it...a little shot of rum while your making them helps the whole preocss go smoother....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Z.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States