Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Sending them to a friend in Afghanistan. They taste very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The key to make this recipe without an overwhelming rum flavor, is to make them a month or two ahead. Alcohol acts as a preservative, and the longer you let them sit, the more mellow the flavor becomes. Put them in an air tight container and shake once a week. Also, if you have enough time ahead, just soak the nuts in rum or bourbon for a few months, then make the balls. As long as your utensils and containers are clean, you won't have a problem. This was always a Christmas treat in my house. Mom would start soaking the nuts on the 4th of july, and by Christmas we had the most delicious, mellow rum balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Simple, delicious, and addictive! I left out the nuts for no particularly good reason other than being a cheapskate, and I slightly upped the amount of cocoa and rum (I used Malibu coconut, as per another reviewer's suggestion). I wouldn't have minded still a little more rum flavor/presence, but that's a personal taste issue. My guests loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
So easy and good! Didn't have rum. I had a choice between Bailey's irish cream and butterscotch schnapps. I went with the Bailey's and they are great! I really think the schnapps would have been good too though. Nabisco nilla wafers now come in an 11 oz package instead of 12. With that in mind, i cut down the liquid a little. I crushed the cookies in a ziploc bag with the side of my meat tenderizer, then i used the same bag for coating the 'Bailey's Balls' in the powdered sugar. Less dishes to wash. You gotta love that! I have a strong feeling these won't last the 2 or 3 days required ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssbg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, and used spiced rum. Then rolled in coconut mixed with power sugar. I ground the pecans in the food proc, same with the cookies. They don't last one day, so i don't know what they taste like after a few days. These are so yummy. Also, the vanilla wafers now come in an 11 oz box, not 12. be sure to wet your fingers when making the balls, they will not stick to your hand, and they will tack up so the coconut will stick. I kept a dipping bowl near by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Great recipe! It's going to be really hard not to eat them all before they fully ripen! >
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Wow, these were not only easy to make but delicious. I couldn't find the vanilla wafers so I used chocolate wafers and it only came in a 10 ounce package so I had to adjust the liquid to 1/4 cup of rum. I don't like things too sweet so I cut down the icing sugar to 1/4 cup. It came out just right. I dipped them in melted chocolate and put them in the fridge. It looks impressive yet very easy. Will make these again next Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I make these every year for my friends and co-workers and they are a hit every time. Sometimes I sub Kahlua for rum and roll them in coconut for a twist; those always go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amandy_cooks!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I added a tad more rum, rolled some in cocoa, some in powdered sugar and some in chopped nuts. Better yet, enjoyed rolling these along side my daughter while listening to Christmas music.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekid67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Excellent and easy! Better when made using homemade vanilla wafers-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgrims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States