Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
We've made them twice this year. Tip...when rolling balls to keep the dough from sticking. Dip hands in water and shake excess off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I just made these and they were so stick to try and roll. I ground up a few more cookies and that helped a bit. For me there was to much rum. Hubby's drink of choice is rum and he gave them a 'just ok". I guess we'll see in a couple days how they taste. My main concern is there is nothing in them that will stiffen up, so sitting out on a plate will often them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have treasured my grandmothers Rum Ball recipe for years thinking it was a family treasure only to come on this site and see the exact same recipe. What a wonderful surprise. The only difference was that her recipe stipulated that after mixing the ingredients that it is to be refrigerated over night before rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made these and they were just grand! I did it alittle different by adding a maraschino cherry in the middle,then dipping the ball into melted chocolate. It gives it a different taste to your holiday! And I also cut the rum down to 1/4 cup and added 2 teaspoons of cherry extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
These are totally fantastic!!! And sooooo easy to make! (I used to make my rum balls out of day-old brownies but if I didn't serve them from the freezer right away, they turned into a gooey mess!). I always have rum balls on hand to serve as dessert after a BBQ or cocktail party. It doesn't have to be just rum; add any kind of liquor that you like! Also, a good tip is to add all the dry ingredients in a food processor and grind them all together. This recipe is my new favorite!!! PS: makes about 4 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I started making these for the holidays a few years ago and they are always a hit especially with my stepdad. The first year I made exactly as shown but since them have made variations - this past year I made two batches - one with Frangelico and hazelnuts and the other with rasperry extract and vanilla rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandaclari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Easy to make and used Captain Morgans Black. No doubt the longer the cure the better. Not overpowering at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Vassar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I love these Rum Balls, my ex made them every Christmas. If you can't handle the "overwhelming" rum (I prefer Captain Morgan Rum) flavor, start with little sips from a shot glass, and work up to the Rum Balls. NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert K. Tompsett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These taste very strong of alcohol so if that is what you are going for it is perfect. I ended up making a new batch using half the rum called for as these were going on holiday cookie trays.I used raspberry rum which I had on hand. I also used used the food processor to finely crush the cookies and nuts (almonds). The new batch was delicious and perfect for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States