Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made these and they were just grand! I did it alittle different by adding a maraschino cherry in the middle,then dipping the ball into melted chocolate. It gives it a different taste to your holiday! And I also cut the rum down to 1/4 cup and added 2 teaspoons of cherry extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
These are totally fantastic!!! And sooooo easy to make! (I used to make my rum balls out of day-old brownies but if I didn't serve them from the freezer right away, they turned into a gooey mess!). I always have rum balls on hand to serve as dessert after a BBQ or cocktail party. It doesn't have to be just rum; add any kind of liquor that you like! Also, a good tip is to add all the dry ingredients in a food processor and grind them all together. This recipe is my new favorite!!! PS: makes about 4 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I started making these for the holidays a few years ago and they are always a hit especially with my stepdad. The first year I made exactly as shown but since them have made variations - this past year I made two batches - one with Frangelico and hazelnuts and the other with rasperry extract and vanilla rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandaclari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Easy to make and used Captain Morgans Black. No doubt the longer the cure the better. Not overpowering at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Vassar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I love these Rum Balls, my ex made them every Christmas. If you can't handle the "overwhelming" rum (I prefer Captain Morgan Rum) flavor, start with little sips from a shot glass, and work up to the Rum Balls. NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert K. Tompsett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These taste very strong of alcohol so if that is what you are going for it is perfect. I ended up making a new batch using half the rum called for as these were going on holiday cookie trays.I used raspberry rum which I had on hand. I also used used the food processor to finely crush the cookies and nuts (almonds). The new batch was delicious and perfect for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
yummy! so easy to make and addicting! strong but goooooood! I used Bacardi Dark Rum. I will definitely keep this recipe and change it up many different ways. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The day I made them, they tasted fantastic. I let them sit over as some others suggested and it was WAY too strong. The ONLY thing I tasted was rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I was looking for a quick filler for my cookie tray for hubs work three years ago when I found this one. I was perfect as is! I did make changes over the years. I now mix this in my food processor after I use it to crumb the vanilla wafers. I store the mix in an airtight container for two days then add 1/4 cup more rum. I use spiced run in place of the light rum. Then after two more days I roll in the confectioners' sugar. I think next year I may use a coconut rum and toasted coconut to roll them in. One year I ran out of rum and had to use some peach brandy I had in it's place. Hope I was helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I brought these to a Christmas party after they had sat for 8 days to blend the flavors. The people that tried them loved them. I didn't think they had enough chocolate flavor so before bringing to the party I took cocoa powder and powdered sugar blended and rolled the balls. My husband said this made them better. Although I didn't try them again. My sister-in-law would like me to make them again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States