Cocoa Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Used half the amount of salt after reading all the reviews. Overall a great flavorsome blend that went well with steaks. Hint of cumin was tad strong so may cut back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
With a slight tweak, this is a very versatile recipe; not just as a rub. I decreased the salt to 1 tbsp, and found it also makes a good dip for chips or veggies. I mix about 3 tbsp of the rub into a 6-8 ounce cup of plain Greek yogurt. When using as a steak rub, I just sprinkle on a bit of salt as well, to compensate for what I took out of the recipe. I've also mixed it with flour and/or bread crumbs (and a bit of salt) for oven-fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Gives steak a real nice kick. We take the salt down a bit and make only half the amount shown here, and we'll still get a couple more meals out of it (store it in airtight container).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a wonderful reciepe. And the flavors are FANTASTIC. I only gave this 4 stars because as written is far to much salt. So I would suggest decressing the salt. It is also not made for the spice sissy as it has a pretty good kick. I'll be lowering the ground pepper as well. But the flavors are on point. Wonderful and I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I've heard a lot of good things about cocoa rubs and was eager to try this. The taste of cumin was so bold it dominated everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I love this rub, very different from other rubs I have tried. I like to add a little bit extra brown sugar for more of a sweet flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by troym40
Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is a great rub on just about anyting! If you use this and it still doesn't come out great, it has to be the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a GREAT rub ... But has way to much cumin in it ...I will cut way back on it with the next batch I make and will up the brown sugar....I use it for my smoker and the food has been great. I gave it 4 stars just cuz of all the cumin...othere wise YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEMCLARK

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Made as submitted. It was to salty for my family. I liked the flavor, so next time will decrease salt. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Arthurs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Western, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Chef John's Dijon Mustard

See how to make homemade Dijon-style mustard.

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States