Cocoa Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I've heard a lot of good things about cocoa rubs and was eager to try this. The taste of cumin was so bold it dominated everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made it this way: 1 tsp. each of salt, cocoa powder & instant espresso powder, 2 TBsps. brown sugar (omitted the regular sugar) and 1 TBsp. of everything else. I felt this kept the flavours in balance, without any of the components being over-powering. We rubbed it on chicken legs and baked on 350F for 45 mins. to 1 hour. I might increase the cocoa and espresso powder a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Nice blend of flavors! And it still leaves room to add more heat if you want to. I used about 3 tbsps. to season a batch of vegetarian chili, as I always add cocoa to my chili anyway so it made sense, and worked great! Later I used some as a rub for boneless, skinless chicken thighs and breasts. I browned those and made a chicken, sweet potato, tomato and black bean stew. Oh, I did also use the rub on slices of tofu, but it basically just tasted like dry rub on tofu - won't be repeating that one. Much better suited for meats, stews, chilis, and maybe even some fish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Great Flavor! Used on grilled brisket and even on the charred (aka burnt) pieces it still was great! It's a great deep and garlicy flavor with just enough sweetness to taste, but not over-power. I did use only about 3T. of salt, but I don't think using the full 1/4c. would be bad....especially on a cut of meat without the thick layer of fat that the brisket had. Loved it!!****UPDATE: Great on beef ribs and chicken breast! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilTay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Holy Cow! This rub is the best thing to pass my taste buds in years! We used it on pork and beef ribs and it tasted different yet WONDERUL on each of them! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a GREAT rub ... But has way to much cumin in it ...I will cut way back on it with the next batch I make and will up the brown sugar....I use it for my smoker and the food has been great. I gave it 4 stars just cuz of all the cumin...othere wise YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEMCLARK

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a wonderful reciepe. And the flavors are FANTASTIC. I only gave this 4 stars because as written is far to much salt. So I would suggest decressing the salt. It is also not made for the spice sissy as it has a pretty good kick. I'll be lowering the ground pepper as well. But the flavors are on point. Wonderful and I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was SO good! I used all the ingredients, but didn't have enough cumin and garlic powder, so I upped the onion powder a bit. I also halved the salt because I used this in a shaker bag with chicken legs. Roasted them in the convection oven at 375 and they came out very tasty and juicy. It made enough to thoroughly - perhaps too thoroughly - coat about 14 legs. Probably a little intense for many, but everyone I served it to raved. UPDATE: This time I made it with half the salt and no onion powder (on hand, y'know?)and took it to a pot luck. I watched carefully - only adults took it, but they all finished it. It was too dark, funky looking, and strong smelling for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I halved the recipe and it made enough for 4 chicken breasts. Served "cocoa rubbed" chicken breast over alfredo pasta, we liked that it tasted like the blackened chicken pasta we order in restaurants. Very easy to prepare and the flavour had kick without being too hot for my liking. Will be a pantry standby for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is a great rub on just about anyting! If you use this and it still doesn't come out great, it has to be the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Chef John's Dijon Mustard

See how to make homemade Dijon-style mustard.

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States