Cocoa Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I tried this recipe for dinner last night with my young son. He and I loved it. There were no leftovers! I will definately have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
Although not what I was expecting, this turned out well. Cocoa adds nothing to this, I'm not even sure why it's an ingredient. I couldn't taste it, smell it or see it. So don't let it scare you from trying this. This is just another fried chicken nugget recipe. Everyone who tried it liked it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
First off I will begin by saying that the end product turned out good. I don't quite understand the coco powder part of the recipe. It doesn't change the taste. Also, I used 3 chicken breasts. I wasn't quite sure how many pounds that was, but I ran out of egg before I was done. So I had to add another egg. I also wondered why so much flour was called for. I had tons left over when I was done. Same goes for the bread crumbs. I also ran out of oil in the pan. Maybe I shouldn't have cut up the chicken in so little of pieces. So, even though there were some complications during the cooking, the end product turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I was a little disappointed and maybe a little relieved that I could not taste the chocolate in this recipe! I also found that frying the chicken over med-high heat was too high--the chicken was dark brown on the outside and raw in the middle. The coating was crispy and delicious, though. I will make this again, omitting the cocoa and cooking on a lower heat, and I think I will end up with an awesome recipe for chicken nuggets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did not taste the cocoa and did not see how it enhanced the recipe at all but maybe that was a good thing? All in all just a good basic recipe for frying small cuts of chicken. I used about a pound of tenderloins and it worked out good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
not bad at all. I recommend some chilli with the cocoa. got any more cocoa recipes Roddy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this and my husband asked me not to make it again, to go back to my original recipe for frying chicken. I thought it was ok, but the cocoa powder didn't add anything special to it, its not like it tasted chocolatey! Thanks for letting me try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
As the recipe is written, the cocoa powder really doesn't add much. I have made chili in the past with cocoa powder so I added some chili powder and garlic powder as well. It was fantastic with those additions. Cocoa really enhances chili flavors. Try it this way you'll like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
i accidentally used 1 T cocoa instead of 1 tsp... but it still didn't have a chocolatey flavor! this is a good recipe idea, but i'll need to work on getting the flavor right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States