Cocoa for a Crowd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really liked this cocoa. Other ones I have tried from on here tasted like a mouth full of sugar. This one had a nice simple "mild and not too sweet taste." I changed the servings to 2 with the calculate button, to test it, and just used the microwave which I usually do. I normally subtitute Truvia, for myself, but was looking for a general recipe for a fall get together. I will use this one scaled down as needed. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is real cocoa, puts the mixes to shame! I scaled down to 5 servings and the only thing I did was to add a bit more sugar after taste testing. It's rich and chocolatey, just perfect. I think using a quality cocoa is the key to success with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It was great I just changed the serving into 6. I think it is a great fix if you don't have any coco mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
i found this recipe very helpful when we were out of the mix packets i had all ingredients on hand all i did was down-size it to 2 servings wich filled a cofee mug. i also put french vanilla creamer in it to cool it down and for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My kids wanted hot cocoa and I didn't have any mix packets. I searched for a recipe that didn't call for dry milk and creamer as we don't keep those on hand. This has just simple ingredients and it was wonderful - very chocolately and smooth. My kids commented how it was better than a mix. We used hersey cocoa and I modified recipe for serving of 8 (which actually just made 4 coffee mug's full). Will definitely use again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very easy, and with a little tweeking, very yummy. Didn't make the cocoa for an actual crowd, but changed measurements for 6 servings, and it was good. I added a bit of cinnamon to my cup and it tasted like the mexican hot chocolate my family loves. The kids added vanilla coolwhip to their cup for a different taste that was good too. Overall, an easy and a very good recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pilgrimchick210

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Smelled wonderful while the chocolate was boiling, but once the milk was added, it had a very weak chocolate flavor. Nobody at the party drank it, so, for me, I won't be making it again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was so good my four brothers loved it they wanted me to make another batch. I topped it off with some Reddi whip and a sprinkle of cinnamon it was delisous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States