Cocoa for a Crowd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really liked this cocoa. Other ones I have tried from on here tasted like a mouth full of sugar. This one had a nice simple "mild and not too sweet taste." I changed the servings to 2 with the calculate button, to test it, and just used the microwave which I usually do. I normally subtitute Truvia, for myself, but was looking for a general recipe for a fall get together. I will use this one scaled down as needed. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is real cocoa, puts the mixes to shame! I scaled down to 5 servings and the only thing I did was to add a bit more sugar after taste testing. It's rich and chocolatey, just perfect. I think using a quality cocoa is the key to success with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It was great I just changed the serving into 6. I think it is a great fix if you don't have any coco mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
i found this recipe very helpful when we were out of the mix packets i had all ingredients on hand all i did was down-size it to 2 servings wich filled a cofee mug. i also put french vanilla creamer in it to cool it down and for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My kids wanted hot cocoa and I didn't have any mix packets. I searched for a recipe that didn't call for dry milk and creamer as we don't keep those on hand. This has just simple ingredients and it was wonderful - very chocolately and smooth. My kids commented how it was better than a mix. We used hersey cocoa and I modified recipe for serving of 8 (which actually just made 4 coffee mug's full). Will definitely use again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very easy, and with a little tweeking, very yummy. Didn't make the cocoa for an actual crowd, but changed measurements for 6 servings, and it was good. I added a bit of cinnamon to my cup and it tasted like the mexican hot chocolate my family loves. The kids added vanilla coolwhip to their cup for a different taste that was good too. Overall, an easy and a very good recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pilgrimchick210

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Smelled wonderful while the chocolate was boiling, but once the milk was added, it had a very weak chocolate flavor. Nobody at the party drank it, so, for me, I won't be making it again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was so good my four brothers loved it they wanted me to make another batch. I topped it off with some Reddi whip and a sprinkle of cinnamon it was delisous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States