Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great recipe! Definitely a moist cake, not a bar, but nobody's complaining here :) I added mini chocolate chips to the banana batter and baked it in a bundt pan for about 30 minutes....then flipped it onto a plate and sprinkled with powdered sugar -- SO GOOD! Thanks for posting this easy and somewhat healthy (no oil!) dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These are wonderful. I used whole wheat flour and replaced half the butter with applesauce to make them a little healthier. I needed 5 small bananas to get 1.5 cups, so maybe those who found the batter dry didn't use enough? Once the bars cooled I also added a chocolate glaze, but they would have been fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was just ok for me. My husband and son really didn't care for it. The good thing is that it does satisfy my sweet tooth for a lot less calories than the normal desserts that I crave! If I have any left over bananas I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisser73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made these for my daughter's volleyball team, so I made them into muffins to make them easier for them to eat. I also added a few chocolate chips on the tops. These turned out wonderfully moist and full of flavor. They were gone in a matter of minutes, and I will keep this one handy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I added the chocolate part to the top and mixed in a 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips. I was OK, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
These are great- SO moist and not overly sweet- I followed the recipe exactly, except I cooked them in a muffin tray, and they turned out perfectly- we already ate them all! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Made this recipe exactly as is and it was delicous. It really is more of a cake than a bar though so if you are looking for something more dense, this is not the recipe for you. I topped it off with "Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting" from here and it was so yummy! My hubby can't get enough :D Just wanted to add that it is very moist. Three days later and it is just as moist as the night I made them! If you are finding this recipe is turning out dry for you then you are not measuring out your mashed banana. I used 4 medium sized bananas and it came out perfect. I think I'm going to make these as cupcakes next time. They should do very well that way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Yummy, very moist. If you don't have enough bananas you can substitute with applesauce if you've got it on hand. When dividing the mix you'll be removing about 2.5 cups as the total mixture is about 5 cups (although I used just under of 2 cups of banana/applesauce mix to get this amount). The texture of it is not like a typical "Bar" it's more like a moist cake, so baking it in a loaf pan, cake pan or muffin pan is a great idea. You could ice it as well & I'm sure that would be tasty - I think chocolate or cream cheese icing would be good for this recipe. Thank you Lisa for this recipe, it's a "Do Over" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This recipe makes a delicious chocolate flavored banana cake. If you are expecting a bar cookie, or chewy brownie type..this recipe won't cut it. That being said, these are very good. I was a little worried about dryness as mentioned by several others so I used almost a full 2 cups of banana...perfect...very moist and the banana flavor comes through nicely. I though they could use a little something on the top. I made a peanut butter glaze (from this site) as suggested by another reviewer and just drizzled that over the top. With that addition, this recipe was 5 stars! Perhaps just a sifting of confectioner's sugar would be enough, but how can one go wrong with banana, chocolate and peanut butter all in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by delicious&devine
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Yum! Yum! Decided to try these since I needed a break from my banana bread recipe. Followed the recipe but added some chocolate chips to the plain batter. Filled up 10 medium sized cupcake holes and baked for 25 minutes. I used three ripe bananas. Would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States