Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are great! I do agree with the others about not changing a thing. Also, I noticed that 1 1/2 cups of mashed bananas is about 4-5 bananas. Mine were medium size. Please make sure you measure otherwise the bars will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Tasted great. But I think I was expecting more of a brownie. This recipe is like a cake cut into squares. But they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These were very moist and good but a little too cake like for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is more like a cake. It is super moist. I used 5 very ripe bananas, I would say it made about 2 - 2 1/2c when mashed.I also used 1c whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2c all-purpose(we have diabetes). I put some mini choc chips in the light colored batter as suggested. Very tasty. I will difinitely make this again. Will make it using Splenda in place of the sugar when the grandchildren will not be eating it. I think because of the extra banana in it I had to bake it 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
We really liked the flavor of this recipe, very full of banana! But even with cutting back the sugar it was still a bit sweet. These will make a perfect after school snack for the kids, though, and I'm sure we'll be making these again and again. A nice alternative to our other favorite... banana bread! Thanks for a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I would call this a cake - not bars. I was expecting something harder, like a brownie texture, but it was very light and fluffy. The cake was springy to the touch. I'm not sure how I feel about the flavor of the chocolate and the way the banana/chocolate tasted together...it left a faint aftertaste. The presentation was nice, though. It's different, some might really like it, but I will probably try something else next time I have a few bananas lying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These were great! I made them into cupcakes & added some chopped chocolate to the batter. I topped them with peanut butter buttercream and they were to die for. So moist & flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessMakerBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These are very good and I will make them again but next time I will add some chocolate chips. I was looking for something with a little more chocolate taste. I added nuts and was going to add chocolate chips but when I looked for them I was all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! My husband is diabetic, so I made it with a half splenda/half sugar mix... and they turned out great! Light, fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were very good. Moist. Flavorful. Not too sweet. The only change for me was adding an extra banana. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States