Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Wonderful, and oh-so-addictive! I made them exactly as the recipe stated, but added handfuls of chopped walnuts and white chocolate chips. The bars are light and fluffy: more cake-like than cookie-like, so you almost need a fork to eat them, but they're absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are great! I do agree with the others about not changing a thing. Also, I noticed that 1 1/2 cups of mashed bananas is about 4-5 bananas. Mine were medium size. Please make sure you measure otherwise the bars will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Tasted great. But I think I was expecting more of a brownie. This recipe is like a cake cut into squares. But they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These were very moist and good but a little too cake like for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is more like a cake. It is super moist. I used 5 very ripe bananas, I would say it made about 2 - 2 1/2c when mashed.I also used 1c whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2c all-purpose(we have diabetes). I put some mini choc chips in the light colored batter as suggested. Very tasty. I will difinitely make this again. Will make it using Splenda in place of the sugar when the grandchildren will not be eating it. I think because of the extra banana in it I had to bake it 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
We really liked the flavor of this recipe, very full of banana! But even with cutting back the sugar it was still a bit sweet. These will make a perfect after school snack for the kids, though, and I'm sure we'll be making these again and again. A nice alternative to our other favorite... banana bread! Thanks for a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I would call this a cake - not bars. I was expecting something harder, like a brownie texture, but it was very light and fluffy. The cake was springy to the touch. I'm not sure how I feel about the flavor of the chocolate and the way the banana/chocolate tasted together...it left a faint aftertaste. The presentation was nice, though. It's different, some might really like it, but I will probably try something else next time I have a few bananas lying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These were great! I made them into cupcakes & added some chopped chocolate to the batter. I topped them with peanut butter buttercream and they were to die for. So moist & flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessMakerBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These are very good and I will make them again but next time I will add some chocolate chips. I was looking for something with a little more chocolate taste. I added nuts and was going to add chocolate chips but when I looked for them I was all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! My husband is diabetic, so I made it with a half splenda/half sugar mix... and they turned out great! Light, fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States