Cocoa Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Delicious, easy and very moist (because of the apples). Has no oil either like many of these kinds of recipes (the apples replace it) so you don't get the added fat and calories. To help clarify...2 cups of apples is about 3-4 apples depending on size. I dusted mine with confectioners sugar for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
First off, I changed a few things about this recipe which may be why I didn't think it was a 5-star recipe...I am a self proclaimed recipe changer..drives my hubby crazy! I chopped the apples instead of shredding and I used 3 cups total. I substituted homemade applesauce for the butter to make it healthier and because I had a lot! I also used 4 tablespoons cocoa powder. I really enjoyed it, my hubby did not like the apple-chocolate combo. Very moist even without the butter. Maybe next time I will shred the apples and see if it changes the result any. I will try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I knew I should not have made it, as I can't stop at just one piece. It is wonderful and requires no icing or frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
My mother has made this cake for years at Christmas time. You can't find a richer, moist cake in the WORLD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I love this recipie. like most people i chnaged it. i wantd to make muffins with this so i added 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and cooked them at 350 for about 30 minutes and they came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna A
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
this was sooo good. didn't last very long in my house. kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
My mother makes this cake every year for Christmas morning. It's fantastic! She does not think it works well in a bundt pan; I haven't tried it in anything but a loose-bottom tube pan. Would love to hear bundt success stories, as I'd love to make the cake in my Cathedral bundt pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
It tastes good but it was a disaster when I tried to get it out of the bundt pan. Luckily I wasn't bringing this cake to anyone because it split in half and the top part remained in the pan. I felt so discouraged because I've never had issues getting cakes out before. And I'm still racking my brain if I did something wrong. But my mom saw it and quickly fixed it. It doesn't look as bad now. But she found it too chocolately (she doesn't care for chocolate) and I love it because of the chocolate chips. Others are eating it and haven't said anything. It is a great way to get rid of all the apples I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This has to be my alltime favourite cake off this site! I LOVE it! Its so simple to make and is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Went apple-picking, so had many apples to use up. This cake was good...not amazing, but good. Some changes based on other reviews: Used both brown and white sugars (1/2 of each), omitted the allspice and doubled up the cinnamon, used 1 cup milk chocolate chips, baked in a 9X13 pan at 350 for 45 minutes. I did think that the apple taste was not as pronounced as I might have preferred. Very moist. Will try in bundt cake shape next time. Side note: I found apples to be not the easiest things to grate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States