Cocoa Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
Excellent recipe: moist as can be, and chocolatey. I used milk chocolate chips since I'm not a fan of semi sweet chocolate, and it came out terrific. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
My grandmother has made this cocoa apple cake for years and years now and it's delicious! She got her recipe off the back of a bag a sugar. The only difference is that her recipe calls for 2 and 1/2 c flour and she finely dices the apple instead of grating it. It's wonderful and will always remind me of her. For some reason, nobody else in the family can make it quite as good as she can -must be that grandmotherly touch! We also freeze it and sometimes just cut a slice off straight from the freezer and eat it ... mmmmmm... this recipe is worth trying -it'll always be one of my treasures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Instead of half a cup of water I used a quarter cup of water and a quarter cup of rum. I also eliminated the allspice and doubled the cinnamon. I will definitely make this part of my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Any doubt this is the best cake? I won third place at the county fair with this cake on my very first try back in 1987...and first the next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I made this cake in a 9x13 pan by baking it at 350 for 45 minutes. It was indeed tasty and moist. It had a funny, spongy texture, though. The only changes I made were to use apple cider instead of water and use half margarine/half butter instead of all butter. I did not frost it because it was sweet enough with the mini chocolate morsels I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
My kids and guest's loved this cake. I added a powdered sugar and vanilla glaze to give it a little shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was amazing. I made a chocolate icing flavored with almond extract to ice cake with while warm and it was a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My mother used to make this cake for me. Always..she died 4 years ago and I haven't had it since. I found this and am ready to make it..I can't wait to try it and remember again the great person that my mother was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My boyfriend and I made this as an experiment and it was fantastic. I added extra cocoa and a few extra chocolate chips. We put it in two loaf pans and baked it at 350F for close to an hour until a toothpick came out clean. Sorry I don't know the specific time, just keep an eye on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
very moist , perfect recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States