Coco-Cola Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Fantastic cake. Not your same old same old chocolate cake at all. This was rich, fudgy, and delicious. This was moist and chocolatey. The cake was really good, but the icing was really fudgy and even sweeter. I didn't have nuts so I proceeded without them. This reminded me of Texas Sheet cake. My husband called it brownie cake and had 2 pieces. I added just a pinch of salt to the icing as my butter was unsalted. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the sweet milk/vinegar method to make a substitute. All I had was a British malt vinegar, but it worked and the flavor was not affected. I had to bake this just a few minutes longer as the center was still jiggly at 35 minutes. I will make this again, it was really easy and tasty and was just as I remembered from my youth. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This cake is great... but, be forewarned, when making the frosting, you must add the liquid to the powdered sugar - not the other way around as stated in this recipe - or it will form clumps and destroy your cake! I guess this is really cooking 101, but I thought the hot liquid would melt the sugar - it didn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was pretty good - I ended up leaving out the marshmallows, as I did not have enough, but the cake was still very sweet and moist. I baked it in a bundt pan and it held up quite well - just needed an extra 10 minutes baking time. It was not as chocolatey as I was expecting, but then again I had never had coca cola cake before so maybe that's how it was supposed to be. Not my favorite, but glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Followed recipe exactly and it was SO GOOD. My boys and husband (and MYSELF) had it gone in no time. The icing is like chocolate fudge instead of just icing. Plan on making another really soon. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Arlington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Easy recipe, no changes or substitutions baked for 30 minutes. There is enough chocolate for my taste. The cake is moist and the icing is really yummy, together they are awesome. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was okay, but not the recipe I was looking for. I followed it exactly. When you cut a slice, the top (close to the frosting) was fudgy-like, and the bottom was more cake like. I think this has to do with pouring the warm frosting on the cake before it cools. Also, the frosting was very sweet. I would have preferred more cola-cocoa flavor and less sugar. The sweetness overpowered it. I had this cake many years ago and it was not this sweet. I will look for another recipe but I may keep this and just tweak it. As is, 3 stars and still very edible (especially if you like it really sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe (almost exactly) has been in my family for decades. The cake part is wonderful, but the the topping is waaaay too sweet. My family won't eat it. I would love to find another topping/frosting that goes well with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
AMAZING!!!! My sister made this when I was younger and fell in love... Wanted to make it for my kids and this has to be the same recipe she used. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!! We just need to find away to make it fat free/good for you hahaha... PLEASE MAKE THIS U WON'T REGRET IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States